Skip to main content


Triple Threat: Writing for Film, Television and Theater​



2: 7/8/2024-7/21/2024




Work with guest artists including a professional television writer, a playwright, and a screenwriter to write a treatment for an original television series, a 10-minute play script, and a short film script. The course is designed to work in short forms of each medium so that students will finish with three projects that could be produced “as is” or be adapted or further developed.

Who Should Take This Class

Playwrights, screenwriters, and writers from a variety of disciplines who wish to learn new ways to create material across media.

Required Application Materials (please submit materials in a single document)

  • Personal statement: explain why you want to take this course
  • Writing sample: two pages in any medium. Theatre, film, television, fiction, non-fiction, poetry, journalism are the most common forms.

Course Coordinator

Bernardo So​lano​ (Pomona) is a graduate of the Yale School of Drama in Playwriting. Solano is a recipient of the NEA/TCG Theatre Residency Program for Playwrights, McKnight Fellowship, NEA, Rockefeller, Ford Foundation, AT&T OnStage, Lila Wallace-Reader’​s Digest grant, and several Fulbright Awards. His plays have been produced at numerous theatres across the country, and he is chair of the Department of Theatre and New Dance at Cal Poly Pomona.

Guest Artists

Andrew Sianez-De La O

Andrew Siañez-De La O (He/They) is a Mexican-American stage and audio dramatist from the US Borderlands. He was a recent finalist for the 2022 Future of Playwriting Award (Ucross Foundation, The Blank Theatre). His plays have been developed and produced across the country.

Alba Quezada

Alba Quezada is a 2014 recipient of the Distinguished Teaching Award at The New School, and has taught voice, speech, and singing for over 22 years at New School University College of Performing Arts. She has performed principal roles in opera and musical theater across the country and Europe, and has worked in film, TV, and radio.

Cynthia Santos DeCure

Cynthia Santos DeCure is a bilingual actor, and voice and dialect coach. She is an adjunct associate professor of Acting at David Geffen School of Drama at Yale University, a certified associate teacher of Fitzmaurice Voicework®, and certified in Knight-Thompson Speechwork. She is co-editor of Latinx Actor Training (Routledge).

Gina Sandi Diaz

Gina Sandí-Díaz, PhD. is an assistant professor of Theatre at Fresno State, where she specializes in Latinx theatre, devised theatre, acting, and directing.

Anakarina Swanson

Anakarina Swanson has been part of the dance and theater community in Sonoma county for most of her life, and has a true passion for teaching, mentoring, and helping students grow through the arts. She still enjoys performing and is excited about her new dance studio, Breakthrough Studio.

Sandra Marquez

Sandra Marquez is an award-winning actor, director and educator. She is an ensemble member at both Steppenwolf Theater Company and Teatro Vista where she served as Associate Artistic Director for many years alongside Artistic Director Edward Torres. She serves as the Co-Director of Graduate Studies, M.F.A. in Acting Program at Northwestern University.

Henry Godinez

Henry Godinez is resident artistic associate at Goodman Theatre, where he’s directed American Mariachi, Fannie, Feathers and Teeth, Zoot Suit, Cloud Tectonics, and Electricidad. He has directed for The O’Neill Theatre Center, Yale Repertory, Signature Theatre, Seattle Repertory, and Oregon Shakespeare Festival. Godinez is co-founder and inaugural artistic director of Teatro Vista, and a professor and chair of Theatre at Northwestern University.

Brian Quijada

Brian Quijada is an Emmy-nominated playwright, actor, and composer. His solo show Where Did We Sit on the Bus? has been produced at Victory Gardens, Geva Theatre, Teatro Vista (Jeff Award), Ensemble Studio Theatre (Drama Desk Nomination), Boise Contemporary, 1st Stage, City Theatre Pittsburgh, and Actors Theatre of Louisville (Drama League Nomination).