Skip to main content


Media Arts Festival

CSU Summer Arts established the Media Arts Festival in 1991 to give talented students studying film, broadcasting, video, screenwriting, and new media within the 23-campus California State University system an opportunity to present their work for critical review. 

A panel of distinguished faculty and industry leaders selects each year’s finalists and winners, and all finalist selections are screened at the festival. Cash prizes and the CSU Media Arts Festival Award are bestowed on award-winning works.

In 2022, the CSU Media Arts Festival had a wonderful opportunity to host an interview with recent Academy Award-winning documentarian Ben Proudfoot, director of The Queen of Basketball. View the interview on our YouTube channel: BEN PROUDFOOT INTERVIEW


Congratulations to the winners of the 33rd annual CSU Media Arts Festival!

CSU Media Arts Festival Awards were announced on Thursday, October 26, 2023.

ANIMATION: Found You, Marijane Vargas, Grace Bennett, Felix Jara, Mitch Alano, Rosanna Davila, Maya Carroll, Lilly Tran, Pierina Caligaris, Maia Mallari, Derek Christmann, Esteban Enriquez, Cindy Hoang, Meghan Graham, Kelsey Ward, Farah Hussain, Angela Macedo, Julietta Zamora Lam, Jaleen Gong, Devin Rowe, Fiona Rieta, San José State

DOCUMENTARY/ CREATIVE NON-FICTION & TELEVISION NEWS: SHRED, Giovanna Trujillo, Shalisa Krualphan, Katherine Nino, Richie Rosales, Eli Roberts, Cole Ratliff, Nick Lindell-Wright, Caro Knapp, Justin La Turno,  CSUN

NARRATIVE: Kites, Liezl Bitas, Kate Whitham, Nicholas Dobry, Erica Smith, Charisma Garcia, Evatt Carrodus, Ryan Silber, Annie Hall, Kristin Simpson, CSUN

SHORT SCREENPLAY: B​lin “Circus” , Lada Egorova,​ Cal State LA

Each winning project will receive a certificate and a trophy, as well as a $500 prize. Finalists receive a certificate, as well. Enjoy viewing the winning projects featured below:

2023 FEST​IVAL Winners

Found You

Category: Animation
Running Time: 04:55
San José State


Category: Documentary/Creative Non-Fiction
Running Time: 12:05


Category: Narrative
Running Time: ​15:19

Blin “Circus”

Category: Short Screenplay
Running Time: 00:46
Cal State LA

View Previous Winners