Report of the Chair

Remarks by Herbert L. Carter
Chair of the Board
Report to the Board of Trustees
January 27, 2010

Hello everyone and welcome to 2010.

I regret to inform the board that Harry Harmon, retired executive vice chancellor, died last month. Harry helped select the site for what is now the CSU San Marcos campus. He retired in 1983. I sent a letter of condolences to the family on behalf of the board and President Karen Haynes sent a letter on a behalf of the San Marcos campus.

In addition, John Kashiwabara, a member of the Board of Trustees from 1986 to 1994, died on January 16. Dr. Kashiwabara was a physician who resided in Long Beach. John was a dedicated and proud member of this board. His passion for Long Beach State basketball was so deep that he often traveled to out-of-town games.

California State University, Dominguez Hills kicks-off its 50th anniversary celebration this month. Over the course of these 50 years, the university has conferred 75,000 degrees and has made contributions to the educational, cultural, economic, and social fabric of the South Los Angeles and the South Bay Beach Cities communities.

For more than sixty years, the two Cal Polys have collaborated on designing, building, and decorating a float entry in the Tournament of Roses Parade on New Year’s Day. Viewed by an international TV audience, this year’s float won the Bob Hope Humor Award.

For the third consecutive year, the Cal State Stanislaus women’s soccer program has received the College Team Academic Award from the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. The team posted a grade point average of 3.19 which places it among the best in the nation.

Last month, Dr. Warren Baker announced his intention to retire from the presidency of Cal Poly. I am pleased to appoint the trustees selection committee: with Roberta Achtenberg as chair, and trustees Carol Chandler, George Gowgani, and Glen Toney as members. Chancellor Reed has contacted campus constituent groups for their representatives to serve on the advisory committee. At a future date, we will honor President Baker.

Every January, the board chair is required by our Rules of Procedure to nominate five trustees to serve on the Committee on Committees. This committee nominates the board chair, vice chair, CPEC representative and chairs and members of the standing committees. I nominate Debra Farar as committee chair, and trustees Roberta Achtenberg, Melinda Guzman, Margaret Fortune, and Lou Monville to serve on the Committee on Committees. A vote to approve the committee membership will be taken at the March meeting of this board.

That concludes my report. It is now time for the Chancellor’s Report.