Five women smiling and showcasing their achievement

About Us

CSUBIOTECH’s mission is to develop a professional biotechnology workforce through collaborative CSU student and faculty research, innovative educational practices and partnerships with the life science industry.

CSUBIOTECH provides seed grant funding, organizes an annual biotechnology symposium, supports biotechnology-relevant curriculum redesign efforts and serves as a liaison for the CSU with government, philanthropic, educational and biotechnology industry partners. The program involves students and faculty from the departments of life, physical, computer and clinical science, engineering, agriculture, math and business at all 23 CSU campuses.

CSUBIOTECH’s Principles

  • Biotechnology education requires the integration of disciplinary knowledge, hands-on practice, and team-based projects. These experiences effectively engage and retain students who are the first in their families to attend college or are from communities underrepresented in the life sciences.
  • All students can build a solid foundation for successful life science careers by working on solutions for real-world problems with CSU faculty teacher-scholars in the classroom and on collaborative research teams.
  • Partnerships with industry professionals, alumni and biotechnology organizations support the ever-evolving life sciences industry and California's regional economies.
  • The CSU plays a critical role in California’s biotechnology ecosystem. It educates its professional workforce and innovates technologies that drive the growth and evolution of the industry.

Our Team & Collaborators

Presidents' Commission

President Jeffrey Armstrong, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
​President Tom Jackson, Jr., California State Polytechnic University, Humboldt
President Saúl Jiménez-Sandoval, California State University, Fresno (Chair)
President Ellen Neufeldt, California State University San Marcos
President Thomas Parham, California State University, Dominguez Hills​
President Vanya Quiñones, California State University, Monterey Bay​

Program Office Staff

Ikhide Imumorin, Ph.D., Executive Director, (619) 594-2510,
Pam Branger, Administrative Support Coordinator, (619) 594-2822
Tyson Gadd, Administrative Analyst, (619) 594-3954
R. Christine Montgomery, Student Program Administrator​, (619) 594-1203
James Schmitt, Program Administrator, (619) 594-5299

Strategic Planning Council

Term Ending SPC Member Campus


Monica Lounsbery, Dean
Bori Mazzag
Katherine McReynolds, Chair
Miri VanHoven

CSU Long Beach
Humboldt State University
CSU Sacramento
San José State University


Michael Goldman
Sastry Pantula, Dean
Jackie Trischman, Dean

San Francisco State University
CSU San Bernardino
CSU San Marcos


Michael Kauffman, Dean
Christopher Meyer, Dean
Dinesh Pinisetty, Dean
Jeffrey Roberts, Dean

San José State University
CSU Fresno
Cal Maritime
San Diego State University


Deepali Bhandari
Jim Cooper, CEO/Managing Partner
Math Cuajungco
Matthew Escobar
Mike Guerra, President & CEO​

CSU Long Beach
​CSU Fullerton
CSU San Marcos
California Life Sciences​​​


Paula Fischhaber, Deputy Chair
Koni Stone
Jinsong Zhang

CSU Northridge
CSU Stanislaus
CSU Chico


Faculty Consensus Group

CampusFaculty Representative, Department, Year Term Ends (June 30)

CSU Bakersfield

Jesse Bergkamp, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2026)
Sarah Forester, Chemistry (2024)
Isolde Francis, Biology (2022)
Amber Stokes, Biology (2026)  

CSU Channel Islands

Ahmed Awad, Chemistry (2025)  
Alona Kryshenko (2025) 
Nitika Parmar, Biology (2025) 
Hugo Tapia, Biology (2025)

Chico State

Kristen Gorman, Biological Sciences (2025)
Meghdad (Amin) Hajimorad, Electrical Engineering (2025)
David Keller, Biological Sciences (2024)
Jinsong Zhang, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2025)

CSU Dominguez Hills

Samantha Leigh, Biology (2027)
Kari Pederson, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2025)  
Eillen Tecle, Biology (2026)  
Philip Vieira, Psychology (2025)

Cal State East Bay

Mikahl Banwarth-Kuhn, Mathematics (2027)
Ram Kandasamy, Psychology (2026)   
Juleen Lam, Public Health (2026)
Monika Sommerhalter, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2025)  

Fresno State

Jason Bush, Biology (2025)
Alejandro Calderon-Urrea, Biology (2024)  
Jacob Wenger, Plant Science (2024)

Cal State Fullerton

Math Cuajungco, Biological Sciences, (2025)  
Niroshika Keppetipola, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2027)
Nina Robson, Mechanical Engineering (2026)   
Marcelo Tolmasky, Biological Sciences (2026)  

Cal Poly Humboldt

Jenny Cappuccio, Chemistry (2025)  
Karen Kiemnec-Tyburczy, Biological Sciences, (2027)
Jorge Monteiro, Chemistry (2027)  
Amy Sprowles, Biological Sciences (2027)   

Cal State Long Beach

Kamiar Alaei, Health Science (2026)
Shadnaz Asgari, Biomedical, Computer Eng. & Computer Sci. (2024)
Deepali Bhandari, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2025)
Peter Ramirez, Biological Sciences (2027)

Cal State Los Angeles

Mathias Brieu, Mechanical Engineering (2025)
Susan Cohen, Biological Sciences (2027)
Hyunsook Park, Biological Sciences (2026)
Xin Wen, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2024)

Cal Maritime

Tomas Oppenheim, Mechanical Engineering (2023)
Alex Parker, Science & Mathematics (2023)
Julie Simons, Science & Mathematics (2023)

CSU Monterey Bay

Nathaniel Jue, Biology (2024)
Ryan Luke, Kinesiology (2022)  
Steven Machek, Kinesiology (2027)  

CSU Northridge

Karin Crowhurst, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2025)  
Paula Fischhaber, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2026)
Melissa Takahashi, Biology (2027)
John Valdovinos, Electrical & Computer Engineering (2027)

Cal Poly Pomona

Hyungchul Han, Animal & Veterinary Sciences (2026)   
Kathryn McCulloch, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2025)
Vilupanur Ravi, Chemical & Materials Engineering (2024)
Jamie Snyder, Biological Sciences (2024)

Sacramento State

Matthew Brown, Kinesiology & Health Science (2027)
Robert Crawford, Biological Sciences (2025)
Katherine McReynolds, Chemistry (2025)
Kimberly Mulligan, Biological Sciences (2025)

Cal State San Bernardino

Jason Burke, Chemistry (2027)   
Jeremy Dodsworth, Biology (2027)  
Jeremy Mallari, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2025)
Daniel Nickerson, Biology (2025)   

San Diego State

Shawn O'Connor, Exercise & Nutritional Sciences (2023)
Byron Purse, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2023)
Manal Swairjo, Biochemistry (2025)

San Francisco State

Taro Amagata, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2027)   
George Gassner, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2027) 
Michael Goldman, Biology (2025)  
Weiming Wu, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2024)   

San José State

Folarin Erogbogbo, Biomedical, Chem. & Materials Engineering (2024)   
Kasuen Mauldin, Nutrition, Food Science & Pkg (2026)  
Elizabeth Skovran, Biological Sciences (2026)   
Ningkun Wang, Chemistry (2027)

Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Jean Davidson, Biological Sciences (2025)
Christopher Heylman, Biomedical Engineering (2023)
Rodrigo Manjarin, Animal Science (2025)

Steven Wilkinson, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2024)

CSU San Marcos

Matthew Escobar, Biology (2027)
Robert Iafe, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2024)  
Darcy Taniguchi, Biological Sciences (2026)
Yuanyuan Jiang, Computer Sci. & Information Systems (2025)

Sonoma State

Lisa Hua, Biology (2024)   
Monica Lares, Chemistry (2025)  
Omayra Ortega, Mathematics (2027)
Nansong Wu, Engineering (2027)

Stanislaus State

Cash Bortner, Mathematics (2027)  
Koni Stone, Chemistry (2025)  
Tricia Van Laar, Biological Sciences (2026)  
Janey Youngblom, Biological Sciences (2024)