2023 CSU Trustee Scholars Awardees
Press Release Student Success

CSU to Honor Achievements of 23 Outstanding Students with Trustees’ Award Scholarships



2023 CSU Trustee Scholars Awardees

The California State University (CSU) has selected 23 students who have demonstrated superior academic and personal achievement to receive the 2023 CSU Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement. These exemplary students—one from each CSU university—will be honored during a ceremony as part of the CSU Board of Trustees meeting on Tuesday, September 12.

“The life stories of these extraordinary students who have triumphed over personal hardships to stand among the university system's most distinguished scholars are a testament to the transformative power of public higher education," said CSU Interim Chancellor Jolene Koester. “Through donor support, the CSU is able to provide students who have faced educational barriers the opportunity to pursue a college degree and apply their life experiences and classroom knowledge to elevate their communities and our great state."

The CSU Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement, which is the highest student distinction within the university, grants students scholarships based on academic achievements, financial need, excellence in community service and personal hardship. Since the program's inception in 1984, more than 440 CSU students have been honored with the Trustees' Award.

This year's class of inspiring awardees will receive more than $180,000 in scholarships collectively, thanks to the generous contributions from past and present CSU trustees and other donors.

The largest scholarship was made possible by a donation from CSU Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi, who endows a scholarship fund to recognize the top-scoring CSU Trustees' Award recipient annually. CSUN student Tania Parker—a parent scholar who was formerly incarcerated and has overcome homelessness and other challenges to now become a fierce advocate for underrepresented communities—was named the 2023 Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi Scholar and will receive an $18,000 scholarship.

The 2023 CSU Trustees' Scholars are:

  • Maxima Alexandra, Cal Maritime

    Trustee Jack McGrory Scholar
  • Erish Mae E. Araneta, Cal State Long Beach

    Ron and Mitzi Barhorst Scholar

  • Christina Benitez Ruiz, Cal Poly​

    William Randolph Hearst Scholar

  • Colin Christian Bethishou, Stanislaus State

    Steve Relyea Scholar

  • Monica Chicas, Cal State East Bay

    William Randolph Hearst Scholar

  • Ali Fakhrudin Dadawalla, Fresno State

    Chancellor Emeritus Charles B. and Catherine Reed Scholar

  • Andres Felix Romero, Cal Poly Humboldt

    CSU Trustee Leslie and Cliff Gilbert-Lurie Scholar

  • Angelo Incitti, Sonoma State

    Trustee Emeritus Kenneth Fong Scholar

  • Sahmae S. Jackson, Cal State San Bernardino

    Trustee Emeritus Murray L. Galinson Scholar

  • Gerardo Langarica Martinez, Chico State

    Chancellor Emeritus Timothy P. White Scholar

  • Krystal Lopez, CSU Dominguez Hills

    TELACU Scholar

  • Melanie Mena, CSU Monterey Bay

    CSU Trustee Chair Wenda Fong and Daniel Fetterly Scholar

  • Estefania Montiel, San José State

    Trustee Emeritus William Hauck and Padget Kaiser Scholar

  • Yesenia Aurora Mora, CSU San Marcos

    Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation Scholar

  • Philip Nicoll, Cal Poly Pomona

    Edison International Scholar

  • Anthony Kyle Olson, Cal State Fullerton

    William Randolph Hearst Scholar

  • Serena Palaroan, CSU Channel Islands

    Trustee Emerita Debra S. Farar Scholar

  • Tania Parker, CSUN

    Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi Scholar

  • Felisa Patiño-Longoria, CSU Bakersfield

    SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union Scholar

  • Shamona Thompson Ross, Sacramento State

    Trustee Emerita Claudia H. Hampton Scholar

  • Jahaziel Sanchez, San Diego State

    John and Beverly Stauffer Foundation Scholar

  • Patrick Emmanuel Sangalang, Cal State LA

    Michael A. and Debe Lucki Scholar

  • Elizabeth Strong, San Francisco State

    William Randolph Hearst Scholar

For bios on all 23 scholars as well as donor information, visit the CSU Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement website.

The CSU Board of Trustees meeting, where each awardee will be recognized during the Committee on Institutional Advancement portion on September 12 beginning at approximately 4 p.m., will be held at the CSU Chancellor's Office, 401 Golden Shore, Long Beach, CA 90802. 

About the California State University

The California State University is the largest system of four-year higher education in the country, with 23 campuses, nearly 460,000 students, and 56,000 faculty and staff. More than 40 percent of the CSU's undergraduate students transfer from California Community Colleges. The CSU was created in 1960 with a mission of providing high-quality, affordable education to meet the ever-changing needs of California. With its commitment to quality, opportunity and student success, the CSU is renowned for superb teaching, innovative research and for producing job-ready graduates. Each year, the CSU awards more than 125,000 degrees. One in every 20 Americans holding a college degree is a graduate of the CSU and our alumni are 4 million strong. Connect with and learn more about the CSU in the CSU NewsCenter.