2022 CSU Trustee Scholars Awardees
Press Release Student Success

CSU Trustees Award 23 Top Student Scholars for Outstanding Achievement



2022 CSU Trustee Scholars Awardees

​The California State University (CSU) has selected 23 students, one from each university, to receive the 2022 Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement. The students will be honored for their talent, diligence and zeal during a ceremony as part of the CSU Board of Trustees meeting on Tuesday, September 13.

The CSU Trustees' Award is the university's highest recognition of student achievement. Each award provides a donor-funded scholarship to students who​ demonstrate superior academic performance, personal accomplishments, community service and inspirational goals for the future. The awardees have demonstrated a deep commitment to making a positive impact on their generation, as well as those who come after them.

“These 23 remarkable scholars wonderfully exemplify the ideals of the California State University," said CSU Interim Chancellor Jolene Koester. “Their inspirational stories are connected by a common thread of intelligence, perseverance, resilience and the transformative power of higher education. Our communities, state and nation—indeed, our world—will long reap the benefits of their academic, professional and personal achievement."

More than 420 students have been honored with the Trustees' Award since the scholarship program was established in 1984 by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. In 1999, the Hearst Foundation partnered with the CSU Board of Trustees to supplement the endowment with contributions from CSU Trustees, CSU Foundation board members and private donors. The 23 scholarships awarded this year will total more than $180,000 in scholarship funds. Each student scholarship bears the name of a donor.

Ali C. Razi, a CSU Trustee Emeritus who serves on the CSU Foundation Board of Governors, endowed a scholarship fund to recognize the top CSU Trustees' Award recipient annually. Cal State Long Beach student Nevi Keser Gruskin​ was named this year's Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi Scholar and will receive a $17,000 scholarship.

The awardees will be recognized for their superior achievements during the Committee on Institutional Advancement portion of the September 13 CSU Board of Trustees meeting, with a special reception to follow.

Visit the CSU Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement website for bios on all 23 scholars as well as donor information.​

The 2022 CSU Trustees' Scholars are:

  • Lesley Bode, Cal Poly Humboldt

    Trustee Emerita Debra Farar Scholar

  • Kenya Janae Burton, Sacramento State

    Chancellor Emeritus Charles B. and Catherine Reed Scholar

  • Serina Cabrera, Sonoma State

    Trustee Emeritus Murray L. Galinson Scholar

  • Chamese Dempsey, San Diego State

    Stauffer Foundation Scholar

  • Ome Garcia, San José State

    Trustee Emeritus William Hauck and Padget Kaiser Scholar

  • Nevi Keser Gruskin, Cal State Long Beach

    Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi Scholar

  • Isaiah Armond Jamal Henderson, Chico State

    Chancellor Emeritus Timothy P. White Scholar

  • Dylan Gunner Jones, CSU Bakersfield

    William Randolph Hearst Scholar

  • Breana Lewis, Cal State East Bay

    Trustee Emeritus Peter Taylor Scholar

  • Miquelle McCarthy, Cal State LA

    Michael A. and Debe Lucki Scholar

  • Dawoud Mishal, CSUN

    William Randolph Hearst Scholar

  • Chiefe Mo, Cal Poly Pomona

    Trustee Wenda Fong and Daniel Fetterly Scholar

  • Jeffrey Mueller, Cal Maritime

    Trustee Jack McGrory Scholar

  • Daisy Morado Navarrete, CSU Channel Islands

    TELACU Scholar

  • Samantha Patricia Navarro, Fresno State

    Trustee Emeritus Peter Mehas Scholar

  • Nghia Trong Phan, Cal State Fullerton

    Southern California Edison Scholar

  • Jeisson Pulido, CSU Dominguez Hills

    Ron and Mitzi Barhorst Scholar

  • Lisamarie Raimondo, Stanislaus State

    William Randolph Hearst Scholar

  • Johnathan Rodney, CSU San Marcos

    Trustee Emeritus Kenneth Fong Scholar

  • manmit Singh, San Francisco State

    William Randolph Hearst Scholar

  • Misealle Louise Tolliver, Cal State San Bernardino

    Steinhauser Family Scholar

  • Nathalie R. Zamora Vigil, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

    William Randolph Hearst Scholar

  • Spencer Hart Winter, CSU Monterey Bay

    Trustee Emerita Claudia H. Hampton Scholar

About the California State University

The California State University is the largest system of four-year higher education in the country, with 23 campuses, 477,000 students and 56,000 faculty and staff. Nearly 40 percent of the CSU's undergraduate students transfer from California Community Colleges. Created in 1960, the mission of the CSU is to provide high-quality, affordable education to meet the ever-changing needs of California. With its commitment to quality, opportunity and student success, the CSU is renowned for superb teaching, innovative research and for producing job-ready graduates. Each year, the CSU awards more than 132,000 degrees. One in every 20 Americans holding a college degree is a graduate of the CSU and our alumni are 4 million strong. Connect with and learn more about the CSU in the CSU NewsCenter.