Wang Awards 2021

The Wang Family Excellence Award

​The Wang Family Excellence Award recognizes four outstanding faculty members and one outstanding staff member who, through extraordinary commitment and dedication, have distinguished themselves by exemplary contributions and achievements.

Their activities advance the California State University’s mission, contribute to student success, bring benefit and credit to the CSU, and enhance the CSU’s excellence in teaching, scholarship and service. Each recipient is given a $20,000 award.

The Wang Family Excellence Award was originally established in 1998 when then-CSU Trustee Stanley Wang provided $1 million to recognize the remarkable contributions of the CSU’s faculty and staff over a 10-year period. Trustee Emeritus Wang generously agreed to reinstate the award beginning in 2015 and in January 2017, Mr. Wang endowed the program with a $2.5 million gift, allowing the CSU to recognize outstanding faculty and staff for years to come. In total, Mr. Wang has given $3.8 million to the CSU over the years.

Meet the 2021 Awardees

As one of my first honors as the eighth chancellor of the California State University, I am thrilled to congratulate the recipients of the 2021 Wang Family Excellence Award. Throughout their careers, and most recently through the tumultuous year of 2020, these exceptional faculty and staff have wonderfully exemplified the California State University’s mission of helping students from all backgrounds pursue their dreams and contribute their talents to our world. The CSU is indebted to Trustee Emeritus Stanley Wang and his family for their vision and generosity, which enable us to bestow the recognition and support this year’s honorees so richly deserve."

—Chancellor Joseph I. Castro

About the Donor​

Stanley Wang is the founder and leader of Pantronix Corporation and a committed supporter of higher education.

Read About Stanley Wang

2021 Nominees

The campus presidents of the California State University nominated a stellar list of faculty and staff members for this year’s awards.​

Meet the Nominees​