Workgroup Membership

​Workgroup representatives were selected intentionally from throughout the system's 23 universities for their expertise and knowledge in the areas of student success, specifically Black student success. Members met regularly as a full workgroup as well as in smaller teams centered around such key topics as: attracting more Black students to the CSU; supporting student retention and persistence for Black students once enrolled; examining campus culture and belonging; and exploring the role of faculty and staff in Black student success.

Chancellor's Senior Leadership Council Members

  • Thomas Parham, President, CSU Dominguez Hills, Co-chair
  • Saúl Jiménez-Sandoval, President, Fresno State, Co-chair
  • Sylvia A. Alva, Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs

University Representatives

  • Cynthia Jackson-Elmoore, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
  • Walt Jacobs, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, CSU East Bay
  • J. Luke Wood, Vice President, Student Affairs, San Diego State University
  • Thomas Wallace, Vice President, Student Affairs, CSU Bakersfield
  • Anna Ortiz, Dean, College of Education, CSU Long Beach
  • Tari Hunter, Associate Executive Director, Equity, Programs and Leadership, CSU Northridge
  • Marcellene Watson-Derbigny, Associate Vice President, Student Retention and Academic Success, Sacramento State
  • Frederick Smith, Associate Vice President, Equity and Community Inclusion, San Francisco State
  • Patience Bryant, Director for Black/African American Equity, San José State

Chancellor's Office Staff

  • Dilcie Perez, Workgroup Facilitator and Associate Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs, Equity and Belonging
  • Jeff Gold, Interim Associate Vice Chancellor, Student Success
  • Judith Millsap, Assistant Director, Community Partnerships
  • Lori Putnam, Report Editor and Assistant Director of Communications, Academic and Student Affairs


The workgroup would like to thank the CSU students, faculty and staff who shared generously and courageously their experiences in the service of creating a more thriving and welcoming CSU community. We also extend our gratitude to the content experts, community partners and other individuals who assisted in the discovery process.​