Stanislaus State Signage
Press Release Leadership

California State University, Stanislaus Presidential Search Committee to Hold Open Forum



Stanislaus State Signage

The California State University (CSU) Board of Trustees is beginning the search for the next regularly appointed president of California State University, Stanislaus.

Dr. Susan E. Borrego currently serves as interim president following the retirement of Dr. Ellen Junn in August after seven years as Stanislaus State's president. Borrego will serve as interim for approximately one year while the national search is conducted.

The first meeting of the Trustees' Committee for the Selection of the president will be held in a hybrid in-person/virtual open forum from 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. on Wednesday, November 1, at the University Event Center on campus. During this time, the committee will outline the search process and the community will be invited to share their preferred attributes of the next president of Stanislaus State.

Please note that campus and community members wishing to address the committee through the virtual option are required to register in advance. The deadline to register to speak during the open forum is Tuesday, October 31, at 5:00 p.m. Confirmed registrants will receive details about how to participate.

CSU Trustee Yammilette Rodriguez will chair the committee. The other trustee members include Jose Antonio Vargas, Darlene Yee-Melichar, Trustee Chair Wenda Fong and CSU Chancellor Mildred García.

The virtual open forum will be web-streamed live and archived on the President Search website​. Individuals can also register to speak on that site and provide their input via written submission.

Board policy requires the chair of the CSU trustees to appoint an Advisory Committee to the Trustees' Committee. The Advisory Committee is composed of representatives from the faculty, staff, students and alumni, as well as a member of a campus advisory board, all of whom are selected by the campus's constituency groups. Also on the Advisory Committee is a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus—both selected by the chancellor. Both committees function as one unified group.

Members of the Advisory Committee for the Selection of the President include:

  • Daniel Soodjinda, Ed.D., professor, Liberal Studies, and Ann Strahm, Ph.D., professor and department chair, Sociology, Gerontology, Gender Studies (faculty representatives)
  • Marcy R. Chvasta, Ph.D., speaker, Academic Senate
  • Dawn McCulley (staff representative)
  • Anahi Lopez and Adrian Sanchez (student representatives)
  • Adrian S. Harrell (alumni representative)
  • Christine Schweininger (campus advisory board representative)
  • Rosalee Rush, Ph.D., senior associate vice president for Communications, Marketing and Media Relations (administration representative)
  • John Jacinto and Jeffrey Lewis (community representatives)
  • Ellen J. Neufeldt, Ed.D., president, California State University San Marcos

Over the next several months, the committee will review candidates and conduct interviews.

About the California State University

The California State University is the nation's largest four-year public university system, providing transformational opportunities for upward mobility to nearly 460,000 students from all socioeconomic backgrounds. More than half of CSU students are people of color, and nearly one-third of them are first-generation college students. Because the CSU's 23 universities provide a high-quality education at an incredible value, they are rated among the best in the nation for promoting social mobility in national college rankings from U.S. News & World Report, the Wall Street Journal and Washington Monthly. The CSU powers California and the nation, sending nearly 127,000 career-ready graduates into the workforce each year. In fact, one in every 20 Americans holding a college degree earned it at the CSU. Connect with and learn more about the CSU in the CSU newsroom.