Profile images of Jose Antonio Vargas and Leslie Gilbert-Lurie side by side
Story Board of Trustees

Governor Newsom Appoints Two New Members to the CSU Board of Trustees



Profile images of Jose Antonio Vargas and Leslie Gilbert-Lurie side by side

​L to ​R: Jose Antonio Vargas, Leslie Gilbert-Lurie


Governor Gavin Newsom announced the following appointments to the California State University (CSU) Board of Trustees on July 22, 2022. Both positions require Senate confirmation. The CSU Board of Trustees is the 25-member board that adopts regulations and policies governing the university.​

Jose Antonio Vargas

Jose Antonio Vargas, 41, of Berkeley, is founder and key strategic consultant at Define American where he has worked since 2011. He was senior contributing editor at The Huffington Post from 2009 to 2010, and a reporter for The Washington Post from 2004 to 2009. He was city desk reporter at The San Francisco Chronicle from 2000 to 2004. Vargas serves on the advisory board of TheDream.US.

Leslie Gilbert-Lurie

Leslie Gilbert-Lurie, 62, of Los Angeles, has been a self-employed author since 2009. She was a consultant for the formation of Geffen Academy at University of California, Los Angeles from 2013 to 2014, and a consultant at Walt Disney Television and USA Network from 1995 to 1999. Gilbert-Lurie served as vice president at National Broadcasting Company from 1986 to 1995. From 1985 to 1986 she was an associate at Manatt Phelps, Rothernberg and Tunney, and from 1984 to 1985 she was a law clerk at the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. Gilbert-Lurie earned a Juris Doctor degree from UCLA.

Gilbert-Lurie is a National Finance Committee member on the Democratic National Committee. She is also a member of the Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center, the UCLA School of Law, and chair of the Nominating and Governance Committee of The UCLA Foundation. In addition, Gilbert-Lurie is a member of the International Board of Directors at Human Rights Watch, and chair of the Nominating and Governance Committee. She is a member of the Writer's Guild of America.​

No Trustee, with the exception of the Chancellor and the Faculty Trustee, receives any salary for his or her service.​​​