ACADEMIC SENATE OF THE CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY

AS-3200-15/FGA January 22-23, 2015

APPRECIATION OF SUPPORT FOR PASSAGE OF AB 2324 (WILLIAMS) TRUSTEES OF THE CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY: FACULTY MEMBER OF THE BOARD

WHEREAS: The passage of AB 2324 (Williams) *Trustees of the California State University: Faculty Member of the Board* by the California Legislature and the signing of it into law by the Governor represents a major step toward ensuring the presence of a faculty trustee on the California State University Board of Trustees, and

WHEREAS: This was made possible through the support and efforts of many individuals, particularly:

- Governor Edmund G. Brown, Jr. for signing the bill into law;
- Assemblymember Das Williams for introducing the bill and continuing to champion it in his role as chair of the Assembly Committee on Higher Education;
- CSU Chancellor Timothy P. White and the 2013-14 and 2014-15 California State University Board of Trustees for making the continuous presence of a faculty member on the Board of Trustees a CSU legislative priority;
- Assistant Vice Chancellor Karen Yelverton-Zamarripa, Andrew Martinez, and Nichole Muñoz-Murillo from the CSU Office of Advocacy and State Relations for finding a bill sponsor for the bill and tirelessly working for its passage;
- The numerous members of the legislative staff who worked with the CSU to guide this bill through the legislative process;
- Campus senates for their letters of formal support;
- California State Student Association for its formal support and active advocacy in the Capitol; therefore be it
- RESOLVED: That the Academic Senate of the California State University express its great appreciation and thanks to the above individuals and all others involved on their successful work on AB 2324, thereby strengthening the shared governance process in the California State University; and be it further
- RESOLVED: That the ASCSU distribute this resolution to Governor Edmund G. Brown, Jr,
 Assemblymember Das Williams, CSU Chancellor, 2013-14 and 2014-15 CSU Board of
 Trustees, Assistant Vice Chancellor Karen Yelverton-Zamarripa, CSU campus
 Presidents, CSU campus Senate Chairs, California Faculty Association, California State
 Students Association

Approved Unanimously – January 23, 2015