This document extracts the **Criteria and Procedures for the Nomination of the Faculty Trustee** as Approved Unanimously March 4, 1988, as part of Academic Senate CSU resolution AS-1773-87/EX "*Criteria and Procedures for the Nomination of the Faculty Trustee*" and revised March 16, 2018 as part of AS-3315-18/EX (Rev) "*Revisions to Faculty Trustee Recommendation Criteria and Procedures*"

Criteria for Nominees for Faculty Trustee

- 1. Candidates shall have demonstrated records of excellence in teaching, professional achievement and university service.
- 2. Candidates shall possess experience in academic governance in the California State University.
- 3. The appointed Faculty Trustee shall not be a member of the Academic Senate of the California State University (CSU). Should the Faculty Trustee be a member of the Academic Senate of the CSU at the time of appointment, senator status shall be rescinded automatically.
- 4. Candidates must be citizens of the United States and faculty members who are tenured at the California State University campus at which they teach. Candidates shall not hold any administrative position other than department chair or equivalent at the time of nomination and appointment.
- 5. Questions as to definitions and eligibility shall be resolved by the Academic Senate of the CSU.

Procedures for Selecting Trustee Nominees

- 1. These procedures shall be initiated at least one full academic term in advance of the time that Faculty Trustee nominations are to be made.
- 2. Each campus senate shall develop procedures for selecting eligible nominees. As at least one option, the procedures shall allow for nominations by petition. Each such nomination shall require the signed concurrence of at least 10% of the full time teaching faculty or 50 such faculty members, whichever is less. The campus senate or council shall forward the names of all eligible nominees to the Academic Senate of the CSU by a date to be determined by the Academic Senate of the CSU.
- 3. The local senate chair shall forward for each nominee the completed Faculty Trustee nomination form and a current vita structured to address the eligibility criteria, a statement of no more than 500 words from the nominee expressing his or her views of the position, and a narrative of no more than 250 words

providing evidence of teaching excellence. Names, addresses, and telephone numbers of five references shall be provided by the nominee. These materials may be submitted electronically.

- 4. The Academic Senate of the CSU Faculty Trustee Recommending Committee shall be composed of seven non-candidate faculty members. Five members shall be elected by and from the Academic Senate of the CSU in the manner of election to the at-large Executive Committee positions. No campus shall have more than one representative. Two additional members shall be selected by their local senates from two campuses chosen by lot from those not represented by the first five. The qualifications for these two faculty members shall be the same as eligibility for election to the Academic Senate of the CSU according to its constitution and bylaws. The Academic Senate of the CSU shall elect these five members of the nominating committee at the September meeting of the Academic Senate of the CSU in the academic year in which the term of the present Faculty Trustee is to expire. The two additional members shall be selected in time to permit the committee to have its full composition by the succeeding (November) meeting of the Academic Senate of the CSU. The first member elected shall serve as chair of the committee. The committee shall determine its own procedures for selecting candidates for nomination. Best practices identified by prior committees are located in the appendix accompanying this policy.
- 5. The Faculty Trustee Recommending Committee shall screen the original list of nominees and develop recommendations with supporting information. The committee shall present at least two candidates for nomination to the Senate. The nominee recommendations of the committee shall be made available to the Academic Senate of the CSU at the January plenary session. The confidential files of these candidates shall be made available for review either in the Senate office or in an electronically secure manner, and review may take place beginning with the January plenary session until the plenary session in which the determination of the nominees is made. Unless otherwise determined by vote of the Academic Senate of the CSU, selection of nominees for the post of Faculty Trustee shall be made at the March meeting of the Academic Senate of the CSU immediately preceding the end of the tenure of the incumbent Faculty Trustee.
- 6. All academic senators of the Academic Senate of the CSU are eligible to vote.
- 7. The Academic Senate of the CSU, acting in executive session, chaired by the Chair of the Faculty Trustee Recommending Committee, shall designate the final (2 or more) nominees by secret ballot or secret electronic method in the following manner, conducting as many votes as necessary: The voting method will list the names of all forwarded candidates in alphabetical order. Each senator may vote for as many candidates as he or she wishes in each voting round. A candidate becomes a nominee in the voting round in which he or

she obtains approval of a majority of votes cast. At the close of each voting round the names of nominated candidates shall be eliminated from further voting consideration. Voting shall be continued by the procedures indicated above until at least a sufficient number of candidates (two) has been nominated to meet the legal requirements. When that condition obtains, the Senate shall determine by simple majority vote (over 50%) whether it wishes to continue balloting. A vote tie (i.e., 50%) does not constitute a majority and voting will not continue. If the Senate chooses to continue, one further round of voting, one time, shall take place. Any candidate not nominated by these regular procedures is again eligible for nomination at this time. Any candidate receiving majority of votes cast in this round of voting is declared a nominee.

8. The Chair of the Academic Senate of the CSU shall forward the names of the designated nominees to the Governor.

The following persons have served as CSU Faculty Trustee:

Robert Kully, 1983–1987 Lyman Heine, 1987–1991 Bernard Goldstein, 1991–1998 Harold Goldwhite, 1998–2003 Kathleen Kaiser, 2003–2005 Craig R. Smith, 2005–2009 Bernadette Cheyne, 2011-2013 Steven Stepanek, 2013-2017 Romey Sabalius, 2017-2021 (current)