AGENDA

COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

Meeting: 4:00 p.m., Tuesday, September 22, 2020 Virtually via Teleconference

Jean P. Firstenberg, Chair Douglas Faigin, Vice Chair Adam Day Hugo N. Morales Romey Sabalius Lateefah Simon

- **Consent** 1. Approval of Minutes of the Meeting of July 22, 2020, *Action*
- **Discussion** 2. 2020-2021 California State University Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement, *Information*

Action Item Agenda Item 1 September 20-23, 2020 Page 1 of 2

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

Trustees of the California State University Office of the Chancellor Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium* 401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California

July 22, 2020

Members Present

Jean P. Firstenberg, Chair Douglas Faigin, Vice Chair Adam Day Hugo N. Morales Romey Sabalius Lateefah Simon Lillian Kimbell, Chair of the Board Timothy P. White, Chancellor

Trustee Firstenberg called the meeting to order.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of May 12, 2020, were approved as submitted.

Trustee Firstenberg recognized the CSU recipients of the 2020 Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) Awards.

Naming of the Nicholas and Lee Begovich Center for Gravitational-Wave Physics and Astronomy – California State University, Fullerton

Garrett Ashley, vice chancellor for university relations and advancement, reported that the proposed naming recognizes the bequest of the Begovich Automobile Collection, which was sold for \$10 million. The proceeds from the sale of the collection will be used for two quasiendowment funds to provide resources for the Center for Gravitational-Wave Physics and Astronomy and to enhance the electrical engineering curriculum and program in the College of Engineering and Computer Science. Inst. Adv. Agenda Item 1 September 20-23, 2020 Page 2 of 2

California State University, Fullerton President Fram Virjee thanked Mrs. Lee Begovich and recognized her late husband, Mr. Nicholas Begovich, for their contributions and dedication to the university.

The committee recommended approval by the board of the proposed resolution (RIA 07-20-07) that the Center for Gravitational-Wave Physics and Astronomy at California State University, Fullerton be named as the Nicholas and Lee Begovich Center for Gravitational-Wave Physics and Astronomy.

Trustee Firstenberg adjourned the meeting.

Information Item Agenda Item 2 September 20-23, 2020 Page 1 of 2

COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

2020-2021 California State University Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement

Presentation By

Jean Firstenberg Trustee

Timothy P. White Chancellor

Summary

Each year, the California State University (CSU) Board of Trustees provides scholarships to highachieving students who have demonstrated financial need and overcome profound personal hardships to attain an education from the CSU. These students have superior academic records and are also providing extraordinary service to their communities.

Background

Since its inception, over 380 students have received the CSU Trustees' Awards for Outstanding Achievement. Thanks to donor generosity, 23 students will receive an award this year. The most outstanding recipient is designated the Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi Scholar.

These distinguished awards are funded by contributions from the CSU trustees, employees and friends of the university. Scholarships range from \$6,000 to \$15,000. Eighteen runners-up received \$2,000 scholarships.

The recipients of the 2020-2021 CSU Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement are:

Allison Cheatwood California State University, Bakersfield Ron and Mitzi Barhorst Scholar

Patricio Ruano California State University Channel Islands *Trustee Emeritus Kenneth Fong Scholar*

Breanna Holbert California State University, Chico *Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi Scholar* **Skye Harris** California State University, Dominguez Hills *Edison International Scholar*

Celeste Morales California State University, East Bay *Chancellor Timothy P. White Scholar*

Jose Alvarez California State University, Fresno *Trustee Emeritus Peter Mehas Scholar* Inst. Adv. Agenda Item 2 September 20-23, 2020 Page 2 of 2

An Thien Le California State University, Fullerton *Trustee Wenda Fong and Daniel Fetterly Scholar*

Julia Jones Humboldt State University William Randolph Hearst Scholar

Jayden Maree California State University, Long Beach *Relyea Family Scholar*

Lessly Tapia Torres California State University, Los Angeles *Michael A. and Debe Lucki Scholar*

Natalie So California State University Maritime Academy William Randolph Hearst Scholar

María Zapata California State University, Monterey Bay William Randolph Hearst Scholar

Anthony Lawson California State University, Northridge Chancellor Emeritus Charles B. and Catherine Reed Scholar

Christopher Ornelas California State Polytechnic University, Pomona TELACU Scholar

Mahdi (Aiden) Jahami California State University, Sacramento Wells Fargo Scholar

Nora Nickoel Ortega California State University, San Bernardino *Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation Scholar*

Deva Reign San Diego State University *Trustee Emeritus Murray L. Galinson Scholar* Yuri Madenokoji San Francisco State University SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union Scholar

Jobelle Abellera San José State University Trustee Emeritus William Hauck and Padget Kaiser Scholar

Thayara Almeida California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo *Trustee Jack McGrory Scholar*

Kayla Nguyen California State University San Marcos *Trustee Emerita Claudia H. Hampton Scholar*

Therese Azevedo Sonoma State University *Stauffer Foundation Scholar*

Robin Fredeking California State University, Stanislaus *Santé Health System Scholar*