AMENDED

AGENDA

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

Meeting: 10:00 a.m., Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium

Adam Day, Chairman

Lillian Kimbell, Vice Chair

Silas H. Abrego Larry L. Adamson Jane W. Carney Rebecca D. Eisen Douglas Faigin Debra S. Farar

Jean Picker Firstenberg

Wenda Fong Juan F. Garcia Maryana Khames Jeffrey R. Krinsk Jack McGrory

Thelma Meléndez de Santa Ana

Hugo N. Morales Romey Sabalius Lateefah Simon

Christopher Steinhauser

Peter J. Taylor

Timothy P. White, Chancellor

Consent 1. Approval of Minutes of the Meeting of May 22, 2019, *Action*

Discussion 2. Conferral of the Title of Trustee Emerita—Thelma Meléndez de Santa Ana, *Action*

Action Item

Agenda Item 1 November 19-20, 2019 Page 1 of 2

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

Trustees of The California State University Glenn S. Dumke Conference Center 401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California

May 22, 2019

Members Present

Adam Day, Chairman Silas H. Abrego Jane W. Carney Rebecca D. Eisen Douglas Faigin Debra S. Farar Jean Picker Firstenberg Wenda Fong Juan F. Garcia **Emily Hinton** Jack McGrory Hugo N. Morales Romey Sabalius Peter Taylor Timothy P. White, Chancellor Eleni Kounalakis, Lieutenant Governor Tony Thurmond, Superintendent of Public Instruction

Chairman Day called the meeting to order.

Consent Agenda

Chairman Day presented the consent agenda – consisting of the minutes of the March 20, 2019 meeting – for approval. There was a motion and a second. The consent agenda was approved.

Discussion Agenda

Chairman Day presented five items for action.

Whole Agenda Item 1 November 19-20, 2019 Page 2 of 2

Conferral of Commendation—John Nilon

The Board unanimously approved the conferral of commendation on John Nilon for his dedication and service to the CSU system. (RCOW 05-19-03)

Conferral of the Title of Student Trustee Emerita—Emily Hinton

The Board unanimously approved conferring the title of Student Trustee Emerita on Emily Hinton for her dedication and service to the CSU system. (RCOW 05-19-04)

Conferral of the Title of President Emerita-Lisa A. Rossbacher

The Board unanimously approved conferring the title of President Emerita on Lisa A. Rossbacher for her leadership and service to Humboldt State and the CSU system. (RCOW 05-19-05)

Conferral of the Title of President Emeritus-Leslie E. Wong

The Board unanimously approved conferring the title of President Emeritus on Leslie E. Wong for his leadership and service to San Francisco State and the CSU system. (RCOW 05-19-06)

Conferral of the Title of President Emerita-Karen S. Haynes

The Board unanimously approved conferring the title of President Emerita on Karen S. Haynes for her leadership and service to CSU San Marcos and the CSU system. (RCOW 05-19-07)

Chairman Day adjourned the meeting.

AMENDED

Action Item Agenda Item 2 November 19-20, 2019 Page 1 of 1

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

Conferral of the Title of Trustee Emerita—Thelma Meléndez de Santa Ana

Presentation By

Adam Day Chairman of the Board

Summary

It is recommended that Trustee Thelma Meléndez de Santa Ana be conferred the title of Trustee Emerita for her dedication and service to the California State University Board of Trustees and the students, faculty, staff, administrators, alumni and friends of the California State University. The granting of emerita status carries the title, but no compensation.

The following resolution is recommended for approval:

RESOLVED, by the Board of Trustees of the California State University, that this board confers the title of Trustee Emerita on Trustee Thelma Meléndez de Santa Ana, with all the rights and privileges thereto.