The California State University

Bakersfield • Chico • Channel Islands • Dominguez Hills • East Bay • Fresno • Fullerton • Humboldt Long Beach • Los Angeles • Maritime Academy • Monterey Bay • Northridge • Pomona • Sacramento San Bernardino • San Diego • San Francisco • San Jose • San Luis Obispo • San Marcos • Sonoma • Stanislaus

> Telephone: (562) 951-4020 Fax: (562) 951-4949



Board of Trustees

Ex Officio Members

Gavin Newsom Governor

Eleni Kounalakis

Lt. Governor

Anthony Rendon Speaker of the Assembly

> Tony Thurmond State Superintendent of Public Instruction

> > Timothy P. White Chancellor

Appointed Members

Adam Day Chairman

Lillian Kimbell

Vice Chair

Silas H. Abrego

Jane W. Carney Rebecca D. Eisen

Douglas Faigin

Debra S. Farar

Jean Picker Firstenberg

Wenda Fong

Juan Fernando Garcia

Emily Hinton

Lillian Kimbell

Jack McGrory

Thelma Meléndez de Santa Ana

Hugo N. Morales

John Nilon

J. Lawrence Norton

Romey Sabalius

Lateefah A. Simon

Christopher Steinhauser

Peter J. Taylor

401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California 90802-4210

MEMORANDUM

DATE: April 19, 2019

TO: Members, Committee on Committees

> Ms. Wenda Fong Ms. Emily Hinton Mr. Jack McGrory Mr. Hugo Morales

FROM: Ms. Jane Carney, Chair

Committee on Committees

SUBJECT: Notice of Meeting – Wednesday, May 1, 2019

The Committee on Committees will meet on Wednesday, May 1, 2019 at 3:00 p.m. by telephone conference. The meeting will be held in the Munitz Room, Office of the Chancellor, 401 Golden Shore, Long Beach, CA 90802. Other locations for this teleconference will be: CSU Fresno, 5241 N. Maple Avenue, Fresno, CA 93740; Sonoma State University, 1801 E. Cotati Avenue, Rohnert Park, CA 94928; 1717 N. Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028; and 1298 Prospect Street, Suite 2A, La Jolla, CA 92037.

The purpose of the meeting is to prepare for presentation to the CSU Board of Trustees at the next regular meeting, nominees for the chair and vice chair of the board, and members, including chair and vice chair of the standing committees of the board.

c: Members, Board of Trustees Agenda Mailing List

MINUTES OF MEETING OF COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

Trustees of The California State University Glenn S. Dumke Conference Center 401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California

May 1, 2019

Members Present

Jane W. Carney, Chair Wenda Fong Emily Hinton Jack Mcgrory Hugo Morales

Call to Order

Trustee Carney called the teleconference meeting to order and requested that a roll call be taken. Ms. Kiss took the roll.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of May 1, 2018 were approved by roll call as submitted.

Discussion

Trustee Carney presented the proposed 2019-2020 nominations for chairs, vice chairs and committee membership. Trustee Hinton inquired about student trustees serving as committee chairs and stated that she hoped there would be opportunity in the future for that consideration. Following discussion, there was a motion and a second to approve the proposed 2019-2020 committee assignments. The votes were taken by roll call. The committee unanimously passed the resolution.

Trustee Carney presented the nominations for Trustee Adam Day as chair and Trustee Lillian Kimbell as vice chair. There was a motion and a second. The votes were taken by roll call. The committee unanimously passed the resolution.

The following board leadership and committee assignments for 2019-2020 will be proposed for Board approval at the May 20-22, 2019 meeting:

Board Leadership:

• Board Chair: Adam Day

• Board Vice Chair: Lillian Kimbell

Committee Assignments:

AUDIT

Jack McGrory, Chair Hugo N. Morales, Vice Chair Silas Abrego Jane W. Carney Douglas Faigin Jean P. Firstenberg Wenda Fong Lateefah Simon

CAMPUS PLANNING, BUILDINGS AND GROUNDS

Rebecca D. Eisen, Chair Romey Sabalius, Vice Chair Jane W. Carney Wenda Fong Jack McGrory Thelma Meléndez de Santa Ana Peter Taylor

COLLECTIVE BARGAINING

Lateefah Simon, Chair Douglas Faigin, Vice Chair Debra Farar Lillian Kimbell Jack McGrory Thelma Meléndez de Santa Ana Christopher Steinhauser Peter Taylor

EDUCATIONAL POLICY

Peter J. Taylor, Chair
Jane W. Carney, Vice Chair
Silas H. Abrego
Rebecca D. Eisen
Douglas Faigin
Debra S. Farar
Wenda Fong
Juan F. Garcia
Lillian Kimbell
Thelma Meléndez de Santa Ana
Romey Sabalius
Christopher Steinhauser

FINANCE

Lillian Kimbell, Chair
Jack McGrory, Vice Chair
Rebecca D. Eisen
Jane W. Carney
Juan F. Garcia
Hugo N. Morales
Romey Sabalius
Lateefah Simon
Peter Taylor

GOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS

Silas H. Abrego, Chair Juan F. Garcia, Vice Chair Douglas Faigin Debra S. Farar Jean P. Firstenberg Jack McGrory Romey Sabalius

INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

Jean P. Firstenberg, Chair Wenda Fong, Vice Chair Debra S. Farar Lillian Kimbell Hugo N. Morales

ORGANIZATION AND RULES

Thelma Meléndez de Santa Ana, Chair Jean P. Firstenberg, Vice Chair Silas H. Abrego Douglas Faigin Lateefah Simon Christopher Steinhauser

Trustee Carney adjourned the meeting.

UNIVERSITY AND FACULTY PERSONNEL

Debra S. Farar, Chair Christopher Steinhauser, Vice Chair Rebecca D. Eisen Juan F. Garcia Hugo Morales Romey Sabalius