AGENDA

COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

Meeting: 4:00 p.m., Tuesday, September 9, 2014 Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium

Steven M. Glazer, Chair Douglas Faigin, Vice Chair Roberta Achtenberg Debra S. Farar Margaret Fortune Hugo N. Morales J. Lawrence Norton Steven G. Stepanek

Consent Items

Approval of minutes of meeting of July 22, 2014

Discussion Items

1. 2014-2015 California State University Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement, *Action*

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT Office of the Chancellor Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium 401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California

July 22, 2014

Members Present

Roberta Achtenberg Douglas Faigin Debra S. Farar Margaret Fortune Steven M. Glazer, Chair Lou Monville, Chair of the Board Hugo N. Morales Steven G. Stepanek Timothy P. White, Chancellor

Trustee Glazer called the meeting to order.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of March 25, 2014, were approved as submitted.

Naming of a Facility - San Diego State University

Mr. Garrett P. Ashley, vice chancellor for university relations and advancement, reported that the proposed naming of the basketball performance center recognizes \$3 million in combined contributions: \$1.5 million by Jeff Jacobs and \$500,000 each from Hal Jacobs, Steve Altman and Jim Morris. The facility will house both the men's and women's basketball teams for practice and skill instruction.

President Elliott Hirshman thanked the donors for their generous support of Aztec Athletics. Through their leadership, San Diego State University has raised all the funds necessary for the basketball performance center.

The committee unanimously recommended approval by the board of the proposed resolution (RIA 07-14-07) that the Basketball Performance Center at San Diego State University be named the Jeff Jacobs JAM Center.

Information Item Agenda Item 1 September 9-10, 2014 Page 1 of 2

COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

2014-2015 California State University Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement

Presentation By

Timothy P. White Chancellor

Ali C. Razi Trustee Emeritus, California State University Board of Trustees

Summary

Each year, the California State University (CSU) Board of Trustees provides scholarships to high-achieving students who have demonstrated financial need and overcome profound personal hardships to attain an education from the CSU. These students have superior academic records and are also providing extraordinary service to their communities.

Background

Since its inception, over 290 students have received the CSU Trustees' Awards for Outstanding Achievement. Thanks to donor generosity, one student from each campus will receive an award.

These distinguished awards are funded by personal contributions from the CSU trustees, employees, and friends of the university. Endowments have been established by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, Trustee Emeritus Kenneth Fong, Trustee Emeritus Murray L. Galinson, Trustee Emerita Claudia Hampton, Trustee Emeritus William Hauck, Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi, Chancellor Emeritus Charles B. Reed, and the John and Beverly Stauffer Foundation. Additional named scholarships have been funded by: Trustee Rebecca Eisen, Trustee Adam Day/Sycuan Band of Kumeyaay Nation, CSU Foundation Chair Ronald Barhorst, CSU Foundation board member Peter Brightbill/Wells Fargo, CSU Foundation board member Michael Lizárraga/TELACU, and former CSU Foundation board member Lidia Martinez/Southwest Airlines. CSU Foundation board member Sheri Slate's company Cisco is funding a scholarship and also sponsoring the awards ceremony.

The recipients of the 2014-2015 CSU Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement include:

Ins. Adv. Agenda Item 1 September 9-10, 2014 Page 2 of 2

Faith Ihem California State University, Bakersfield Angelina Aliberti and Lawrence L. Ruggie Scholar

Teresa Castillo California State University Channel Islands Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation Scholar

Natalie Holmberg-Douglas California State University, Chico *Robert & Dorothy Talty Scholar*

Pamela Hernandez California State University, Dominguez Hills *Trustee Emerita Claudia Hampton Scholar*

Jessica Mery California State University, East Bay Southwest Airlines Scholar

Bryan L.L. Wood California State University, Fresno William Randolph Hearst Scholar

Michael Chacon California State University, Fullerton Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation Scholar

Monica R. Correale Humboldt State University *Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi Scholar*

Lita Melissa Cahuana California State University, Long Beach CSU Foundation Board of Governors Scholar Sponsored by Ronald R. and Mitzi Barhorst

Justin D'Agostino California State University, Los Angeles John and Beverly Stauffer Foundation Scholar

Gregory Worstell California Maritime Academy Wells Fargo Scholar Jesus Ochoa Perez California State University, Monterey Bay *Chancellor Emeritus Charles B. Reed Scholar*

Mayra Roxi Diaz California State University, Northridge *Trustee Rebecca Eisen Scholar*

Natalie Rivera California State Polytechnic University, Pomona William Randolph Hearst Scholar

Patrick Landrum California State University, Sacramento *William Randolph Hearst Scholar*

Gena Alltizer California State University, San Bernardino *William Randolph Hearst Scholar*

Sergio Juarez San Diego State University TELACU Scholar

Shayle Matsuda San Francisco State University *Trustee Emeritus Murray L. Galinson Scholar*

David Elliott San José State University *Trustee Emeritus William Hauck Scholar*

Michelle Lam California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo *Cisco Scholar*

Carlos Betancourt California State University San Marcos *Trustee Emeritus Kenneth Fong Scholar*

Giovanni Lamanna Sonoma State University William Randolph Hearst Scholar

Eliza Matley California State University, Stanislaus *Haworth Family Scholar*