AGENDA

COMMITTEE ON COLLECTIVE BARGAINING

Meeting: 8:00 a.m., Tuesday, March 20, 2012 Munitz Conference Room—Closed Session

8:30 a.m., Tuesday, March 20, 2012 Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium—Open Session

Lou Monville, Chair Melinda Guzman, Vice Chair Roberta Achtenberg Debra S. Farar Kenneth Fong William Hauck Bob Linscheid Henry Mendoza

Closed Session – Munitz Conference Room

(Government Code Section 3596[d])

Open Session – Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium

Consent Items

Approval of the Minutes of the Meeting of January 24, 2012

1. Subject To Prior Ratification by the Union (CSUEU), Ratification of the Full Agreement with the California State University Employees Union (CSUEU) (Units 2, 5, 7, and 9), *Action*.

MINUTES OF MEETING OF COMMITTEE ON COLLECTIVE BARGAINING

Trustees of The California State University Office of the Chancellor Glenn S. Dumke Conference Center 401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California

January 24, 2012

Members Present

Lou Monville, Chair Melinda Guzman, Vice Chair Roberta Achtenberg Herb L. Carter, Chair of the Board Debra S. Farar Kenneth Fong William Hauck Bob Linscheid Henry Mendoza Charles B. Reed, Chancellor

Trustee Lou Monville called the Committee on Collective Bargaining to order.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the November 15, 2011 meeting were approved as submitted.

Action Items

There were no action items presented at the meeting.

Public Speakers

The Chair of CFA's Bargaining Committee, Professor Andy Merrifield voiced his views on the bargaining process to date and was hopeful that mediation would produce a negotiated agreement so that the parties could then focus on securing resources for the CSU.

CSUEU President Pat Gantt announced that the parties had reached an agreement on a successor contract. After acknowledging the hard work done on both sides, he thanked the CSU Management team and indicated that the agreement demonstrates that the Trustees listened to their concerns. The Union was hopeful to get the agreement ratified so that the Board may take action in March. Vice President Russell Kilday-Hicks, Unit 2 Chair Tesse Reese and Chief Negotiator Lois Kuglemass also addressed the committee and echoed Mr. Gantt's sentiments. This concludes the report of the Committee on Collective Bargaining.