AGENDA

COMMITTEE ON COLLECTIVE BARGAINING

Meeting: 10:30 a.m., Tuesday, September 22, 2009 Munitz Conference Room – Closed Session

11:15 a.m., Tuesday, September 22, 2009 Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium – Open Session

Lou Monville, Chair William Hauck, Vice Chair Roberta Achtenberg Herbert L. Carter Debra S. Farar George G. Gowgani Melinda Guzman Raymond W. Holdsworth A. Robert Linscheid

Closed Session – Munitz Conference Room

Labor Relations Status Report (Government Code Section 3596 [d])

Open Session – Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium Consent

Approval of the Minutes of the Meeting of May 12, 2009

Discussion

Ratification of the Successor Collective Bargaining with the State Employees' Trades Council-United (Unit 6), *Action*

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE ON COLLECTIVE BARGAINING

Trustees of the California State University Office of the Chancellor Glen S. Dumke Conference Center 401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California

May 12, 2009

Members Present

Lou Monville, Chair William Hauck, Vice Chair Roberta Achtenberg Herbert L. Carter Debra S. Farar George G. Gowgani Melinda Guzman Raymond W. Holdsworth A. Robert Linscheid Charles B. Reed, Chancellor

Approval of Minutes

Trustee Lou Monville called the Committee on Collective Bargaining to order. The minutes of the May 12, 2009 meeting were approved as submitted.

There was one action item. The Committee approved the CSU's tentative agreement for a successor contract with SEIU Local 99, representing the Headstart Program at San Francisco. The Committee then heard from UAPD President Floyd Anscombe who reported that his members have accepted the CSU's furlough plan. Next APC President Fernando Beltran indicated that APC is still trying to negotiate furloughs and for the CSU to be patient.

CSUEU President Pat Gantt reported that although it was a difficult vote his members voted 81% in favor of the CSU's furlough proposal. CSUEU did so because the members care about their co-workers, the mission of the University and the Students.

Finally, CSUEU Vice President Russell Kildaye-Hicks, Unit 9 Chair Rich McGee, Unit 2 Chair Tessie Reese and Unit 5 Chair Sharon Cunningham echoed Gantt's statements by urging the CSU community to work together to preserve the CSU's budget.

Trustee Monville then adjourned the meeting.