AGENDA

COMMITTEE ON COLLECTIVE BARGAINING

Meeting: 9:00 a.m., Tuesday, March 14, 2006

Munitz Conference Room - Closed Session

10:00 a.m., Tuesday, March 14, 2006

Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium – Open Session

Robert G. Foster, Chair William Hauck, Vice Chair

Roberta Achtenberg Jeffrey L. Bleich Herbert L. Carter Debra S. Farar

Raymond W. Holdsworth

Tuesday, March 14, 2006 -- Closed Session - Munitz Conference Room

Government Code Section 3596[d] – Committee Members Chair of the Board Chancellor and Staff

Tuesday, March 14, 2006--Open Session – Dumke Auditorium

Approval of Minutes of Meeting of January 31-February 1, 2006

Ratification of Agreements as required

MINUTES OF MEETING OF COMMITTEE ON COLLECTIVE BARGAINING

Trustees of The California State University
Office of the Chancellor
Glenn S. Dumke Conference Center
401 Golden Shore
Long Beach, California

January 31, 2006

Members Present

Bob Foster, Chair
William Hauck, Vice Chair
Roberta Achtenberg
Jeffrey L. Bleich
Herbert L. Carter
Debra S. Farar
Raymond W. Holdsworth
Murray L. Galinson, Chairman of the Board
Charles B. Reed, Chancellor

Approval of Minutes

The Committee approved the minutes of November 8, 2005, as submitted.

Then the Committee heard presentations from various union representatives.

Mr. Pat Gantt, President of CSUEU, and Mr. Dennis Dillon, his colleague, have promised to work collaboratively with the CSU in upcoming full contract bargaining, requested that CSU make its proposals public in January for future bargaining, and took issue with the fact that CSU did not discuss with the unions the 5-year plan to close salary gaps.

Trustee Foster informed CSUEU that its concerns would be given to the right channel so they can be properly addressed.

Dr. Charles Goetzl, President of APC, thanked Chancellor Charles Reed, Vice Chancellor McClain, Assistant Vice Chancellor Strafaci and especially Ms. Abertnatha for her part in the implementation of the 3-year contract, and expressed his desire that parties in bargaining resolve future disagreements in a more timely manner.

Trustee Foster commended Vice Chancellor McClain, Assistant Vice Chancellor Strafaci, and Ms. Abernatha of the spirit they had conducted themselves in their negotiation with APC.