AGENDA

COMMITTEE ON COLLECTIVE BARGAINING

Meeting: 12:30 p.m., Tuesday, January 31, 2006 Munitz Conference Room – Closed Session

> 1:30 p.m., Tuesday, January 31, 2006 Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium – Open Session

7:45 a.m., Wednesday, February 1, 2006 Munitz Conference Room – Closed Session

Robert G. Foster, Chair William Hauck, Vice Chair Roberta Achtenberg Jeffrey L. Bleich Herbert L. Carter Debra S. Farar Raymond W. Holdsworth

Tuesday, January 31, 2006 -- Closed Session - Munitz Conference Room

Government Code Section 3596[d] – Committee Members Chair of the Board Chancellor and Staff

Tuesday, January 31, 2006--Open Session – Dumke Auditorium

Approval of Minutes of Meeting of November 8, 2005

Ratification of Agreements as required

Wednesday, February 1, 2006--Closed Session – Munitz Conference Room

Government Code Section 3596[d] – Committee Members Chair of the Board Chancellor and Staff

MINUTES OF MEETING OF COMMITTEE ON COLLECTIVE BARGAINING

Trustees of The California State University
Office of the Chancellor
Glenn S. Dumke Conference Center
401 Golden Shore
Long Beach, California

November 8, 2005

Members Present

Robert Foster, Chair Roberta Achtenberg Debra S. Farar Murray L. Galinson, Chair of the Board Raymond W. Holdsworth Charles B. Reed, Chancellor

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of September 20, 2005 and October 27, 2005 were approved as submitted.

Trustee Foster called the Committee on Collective Bargaining meeting to order, as well as, announced modification in the September 20, 2005 minutes to reflect a change of reference to Ms. Lilian Taiz as Dr. Lilian Taiz instead.

Trustee Foster turned it over to Vice Chancellor Jackie McClain, who informed the Committee that members of the Academic Professionals of California (APC) has ratified its tentative agreement yesterday, thus, bring the 3-year negotiation to a close, and commended both the CSU and APC bargaining teams for their cooperative efforts, especially by Ms. Sharyn Abernatha, a Senior Manager of Labor Relations, who led the CSU team.

Vice Chancellor McClain turned it over to Assistant Vice Chancellor Samuel Strafaci who detailed the points agreed upon on the ratified APC tentative agreement, as well as, staff recommending ratification of the APC tentative agreement by the Committee.

Trustee Foster called the motion for ratification of APC tentative agreement; motion so moved, seconded, and carried. Trustee Foster thanked Vice Chancellor McClain, Assistant Vice Chancellor Strafaci, and Ms. Abernatha, and congratulated APC for the milestone reached with the agreement.

The Committee then heard presentations from various union representatives.

Dr. Charles Goetzl, President of APC, thanked Chancellor Charles Reed, Vice Chancellor McClain, Assistant Vice Chancellor Strafaci and especially Ms. Abertnatha for her part in the

negotiation. However, Dr. Goetzl commented that though APC & CSU truly are not happy with the ratified tentative agreement, the process showed that both teams share a positive commonality in their fundamental values more so than their apparent differences.

Mr. Fernando Beltran, also with APC, expressed his appreciation for the ratification of the tentative agreement since it's CSU's students who we will need to provide the services for and the reason why we are here. Trustee Foster thanked Mr. Beltran for his kind words.

Ms. Christine McCarthy, likewise of APC, commented on the respect that was established between the negotiating teams during the bargaining process despite the unpleasantness of the issues at hand, and publicly and personally thanked Ms. Abernatha, as well as, expressed APC's belief in a Merit Pay program. Ms. McCarthy shared to the Committee the outstanding voter turnout of 75%, of which 99% were in favor of the ratification.

Mr. Dennis Dillon of CSUEU expressed his appreciation for the ratification of the APC's tentative agreement, as well as, thanked both the APC and CSU bargaining teams. Mr. Dillon stated also his concern of employees having to resort to a termination/rehiring tactic to procure a higher pay scale, which is a disservice to old and new employees in the system. Trustee Foster thanked Mr. Dillon for his expressed sentiment and that Trustee Foster stated he would definitely look into the situation.

Mr. Rocky Waters, also of CSUEU, commented staff wage lags were not addressed in the current agreement with the CSU, and also should be addressed in like manners as the presidents, executives and the faculty. Trustee Achtenberg informed Mr. Waters that a 5-year plan, which was presented to the public during the October 27, 2005 Board of Trustees' open session meeting, addressed compensations for all employees of the CSU system, not just the faculty. Likewise, Trustee Foster clarified that the intent of the 5-year plan proposal was to look at the total compensation of all the employees of the CSU system and thanked Trustee Achtenberg for the clarification. Mr. Waters asked the Committee for a copy of the salary lag data, to which Trustee Foster deferred to Vice Chancellor McClain to provide a copy to Mr. Waters*.

Trustee Foster thanked unions for their comments.

^{*} Note: As clarified later in the Board meeting, the request was for data not yet collected. A summary will be provided when available.