## The California State University

Channel Islands Humboldt Bakersfield Dominguez Hills East Bay Fullerton Long Beach Los Angeles Maritime Academy Monterey Bay Northridge Pomona Sacramento San Bernardino San Diego San Francisco San Luis Obispo Sonoma San Jose San Marcos Stanislaus

## VERITAS 1857

## **Board of Trustees**

Telephone: (562) 951-4020 Fax: (562) 951-4949

Ex Officio Members

Arnold Schwarzenegger

Governor

MEMORANDUM

Lieutenant Governor

Cruz Bustamante

Fabian Nuñez Speaker of the Assembly

Date:

TO:

October 6, 2006

Jack O'Connell State Superintendent

of Public Instruction

Steering Committee for Strategic Planning to Succeed Cornerstones

(Member List Attached)

Charles B. Reed Chancellor

> FROM: Roberta Achtenberg, Chair

Appointed Members Roberta Achtenberg

Chair

SUBJECT: Notice of Meeting – Monday, October 16, 2006

Jeffrev L. Bleich

Vice Chair

The Committee will meet in open session for the purpose of establishing the overall

planning process and identifying themes and issues to guide the campus

Herbert L. Carter

conversations that will begin the process. The meeting is scheduled from 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. on Monday, October 16, 2006 in room Seaview A at the Hyatt Regency

Long Beach, 200 South Pine Avenue, Long Beach, California, 90802

Moctesuma Esparza

Carol R. Chandler

Attachment

Debra S. Farar Kenneth Fong

Murray L. Galinson

George G. Gowgani

William Hauck

Raymond W. Holdsworth

Ricardo F. Icaza

Andrew LaFlamme

A. Robert Linscheid

Lou Monville

Melinda Guzman Moore

Jennifer Reimer

Craig R. Smith

Glen Toney

Kyriakos Tsakopoulos

401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California 90802-4210

c: Members, Board of Trustees Agenda Mailing List

Notice of Meeting October 6, 2006 Page 2

## **Steering Committee Membership**

Roberta Achtenberg, Chair and Chair of the Board of Trustees

F. King Alexander, President, CSU Long Beach

Boice Bowman, Vice President for Student Affairs, CSU Dominguez Hills

Mark Burrell Managing Partner, The Westmark Group

Herbert Carter, Member, Board of Trustees

Marshall Cates, Secretary, ASCSU (CSU Los Angeles)

Carol R. Chandler, Member, Board of Trustees
Debra S. Farar, Member, Board of Trustees

Herbert Fischer, Superintendent of Schools, San Bernardino County Carmella Franco, Superintendent, Whittier City School District

John Gemello, Provost, San Francisco State University
Bruno Giberti, Faculty Member, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Alexander Gonzalez, President, CSU Sacramento

David Gordon Superintendent of Schools, Sacramento County

George G. Gowgani, Member, Board of Trustees

Rona Halualani, Faculty Member, San Jose State University

Dianne Harrison, President, CSU Monterey Bay William Hauck, Member, Board of Trustees

Christine Helwick, General Counsel

Raymond W. Holdsworth, Member, Board of Trustees Jolene Koester, President, CSU Northridge Andrew LaFlamme, Member, Board of Trustees

Jackie McClain, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources

Ray Mellado, Chairman of the Board and CEO Hispanic Engineer

National Achievement Awards Corporation

Horace Mitchell, President, CSU Bakersfield Lou Monville, Member, Board of Trustees

Karno Ng, Faculty Member, CSU San Marcos

Mary Niven Vice President, Resort Food and Beverage, Disneyland

Eduardo Ochoa, Provost, Sonoma State University

J. Michael Ortiz, President, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

Barry Pasternak, Vice Chair ASCSU (CSU Fullerton)

Paul Persons, Executive Committee, ASCSU (CSU Chico)
Charles B. Reed, Chancellor, California State University

Gary Reichard, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer

Henry Reichman, Executive Committee, ASCSU (CSU East Bay)

Jennifer Reimer, Member, Board of Trustees
James Rosser, President, CSU Los Angeles
Craig Smith, Member, Board of Trustees

Notice of Meeting October 6, 2006 Page 3

Marshelle Thobaben, Cha	ir, ASCSU (Humboldt State University)
-------------------------	---------------------------------------

Glen Toney, Member, Board of Trustees Valerie Vuicich CSU Alumni Association John Welty, President, CSU Fresno

Richard West, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer

Paul Zingg, President, CSU Chico

Vacancy Student Vacancy Student