The California State University

Bakersfield • Chico • Channel Islands • Dominguez Hills • East Bay • Fresno • Fullerton • Humboldt Long Beach • Los Angeles • Maritime Academy • Monterey Bay • Northridge • Pomona • Sacramento San Bernardino • San Diego • San Francisco • San Jose • San Luis Obispo • San Marcos • Sonoma • Stanislaus

Board of Trustees

Telephone: (562) 951-4020 Fax: (562) 951-4949

Ex Officio Members

Arnold Schwarzenegger

Governor

John Garamendi

Lieutenant Governor

DATE:

October 19, 2007

Fabian Nuñez Speaker of the Assembly

Jack O'Connell

State Superintendent of Public Instruction TO:

Steering Committee for Access to Excellence

(Member List Attached)

Charles B. Reed Chancellor

FROM:

Roberta Achtenberg, Chair

and civil rights/non-profit/advocacy sectors are invited.

visit the strategic planning link on the main CSU website:

http://www.calstate.edu/acadaff/System_Strategic_Planning/

Appointed Members

Roberta Achtenberg

Jeffrev L. Bleich

Vice Chair

Chair

Notice of Meeting – Friday, November 2, 2007 SUBJECT:

The Steering Committee for Access to Excellence will hold a California State

University Regional Stakeholder meeting on Friday, November 2, 2007 at the Satellite Student Union, Whitfield Hall at California State University, Fresno, 5241 North Maple Ave., Fresno, CA 93740. This meeting is scheduled to begin at 10:00 AM and

The planning process for this new systemwide strategic plan (Access to Excellence) is inclusive and consultative in design. Access to Excellence will emphasize how the CSU

California. The next important step in our planning process; therefore, has been a series

of stakeholder meetings, to which representatives from the P-14 education, business,

For more information on the CSU's Access to Excellence planning process, you may

can best relate to, and serve, key external stakeholders and, thereby, the State of

end at 3:00 PM. Herbert L. Carter

Carol R. Chandler

Debra S. Farar

Kenneth Fong

George G. Gowgani

Melinda Guzman

William Hauck

Raymond W. Holdsworth

Ricardo F. Icaza

A. Robert Linscheid

c: Members, Board of Trustees

Agenda Mailing List Peter Mehas

Attachment

Henry Mendoza

Lou Monville

Jennifer Reimer

Craig R. Smith

Glen Toney

Kyriakos Tsakopoulos

401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California 90802-4210



Steering Committee Membership

Roberta Achtenberg, Chair and Chair of the Board of Trustees

F. King Alexander, President, CSU Long Beach Mildred Garcia President, CSU Dominguez Hills

Mark Burrell Managing Partner, The Westmark Group

Herbert Carter, Member, Board of Trustees

Marshall Cates, Secretary, ASCSU (CSU Los Angeles)

Carol R. Chandler, Member, Board of Trustees
Debra S. Farar, Member, Board of Trustees

Herbert Fischer, Superintendent of Schools, San Bernardino County Carmella Franco, Superintendent, Whittier City School District

John Gemello, Provost, San Francisco State University
Bruno Giberti, Faculty Member, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Alexander Gonzalez, President, CSU Sacramento

David Gordon Superintendent of Schools, Sacramento County

George G. Gowgani, Member, Board of Trustees

Rona Halualani, Faculty Member, San Jose State University

Dianne Harrison, President, CSU Monterey Bay William Hauck, Member, Board of Trustees

Christine Helwick, General Counsel

Raymond W. Holdsworth, Member, Board of Trustees

Andrew Janz Graduate Student, CSU Stanislaus Nasim Khansari Student, CSU Channel Islands Jolene Koester, President, CSU Northridge

Gail Brooks Interim Vice Chancellor, Human Resources

Ray Mellado, Chairman of the Board and CEO Hispanic Engineer

National Achievement Awards Corporation

Horace Mitchell, President, CSU Bakersfield Lou Monville, Member, Board of Trustees

Karno Ng, Faculty Member, CSU San Marcos

Mary Niven Vice President, Resort Food and Beverage, Disneyland

Eduardo Ochoa, Provost, Sonoma State University

J. Michael Ortiz, President, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

Barry Pasternak, Vice Chair ASCSU (CSU Fullerton)
Charles B. Reed, Chancellor, California State University

Gary Reichard, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer

Henry Reichman, Executive Committee, ASCSU (CSU East Bay)

Jennifer Reimer, Member, Board of Trustees James Rosser, President, CSU Los Angeles Craig Smith, Member, Board of Trustees Notice of Meeting October 19, 2007 Page 3

John	Tarjan,	Executive Committee, ASCSU (CSU Bakersfield)
Marshelle	Thobaben,	Chair, ASCSU (Humboldt State University)
Glen	Toney,	Member, Board of Trustees
Valerie	Vuicich	CSU Alumni Council
Jane	Wellman	Consultant, Facilitator
John	Welty,	President, CSU Fresno

Richard West, President, CSU Fresno
Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer

Paul Zingg, President, CSU Chico