The California State University

Bakersfield • Chico • Channel Islands • Dominguez Hills • East Bay • Fresno • Fullerton • Humboldt Long Beach • Los Angeles • Maritime Academy • Monterey Bay • Northridge • Pomona • Sacramento San Bernardino • San Diego • San Francisco • San Jose • San Luis Obispo • San Marcos • Sonoma • Stanislaus

Telephone: (562) 951-4020

Fax: (562) 951-4949



Board of Trustees

Ex Officio Members Arnold Schwarzenegger Governor

MEMORANDUM

Cruz Bustamante Lieutenant Governor

Fabian Nuñez Speaker of the Assembly

> Jack O'Connell State Superintendent of Public Instruction

> > Charles B. Reed Chancellor

Appointed Members Roberta Achtenberg Chair

Jeffrev L. Bleich Vice Chair

Herbert L. Carter

Carol R. Chandler

Moctesuma Esparza

Debra S. Farar

Kenneth Fong

Murray L. Galinson

George G. Gowgani

William Hauck

Raymond W. Holdsworth

Ricardo F. Icaza

Andrew LaFlamme

A. Robert Linscheid

Lou Monville

Melinda Guzman Moore

Jennifer Reimer

Craig R. Smith

Glen Toney

Kyriakos Tsakopoulos

401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California 90802-4210

October 20, 2006 Date:

TO: Steering Committee for Strategic Planning to Succeed Cornerstones

(Member List Attached)

Roberta Achtenberg, Chair Polista fiktenlier FROM:

SUBJECT: Notice of Meeting – Monday, November 1-3, 2006

The Steering Committee for the California State University Systemwide Strategic Planning project will convene online at 8:00 AM, November 1, 2006, and conclude at 12:00 Noon on November 3, 2006. Steering Committee members will access an

Internet web site whose URL is as follows:

http://www.calstate.edu/acadaff/System Strategic Planning/AccessAndExcellence.shtml

While on the Internet web site, Steering Committee members will be afforded an opportunity to comment on suggested language for "domains" and associated questions which together, when affirmed by the Steering Committee, will comprise suggested directions for CSU campus dialogues that will be focused on strategic directions for the California State University in approximately the next ten years.

Members of the public may view the web site, and will have an opportunity separately to comment on the suggested language, or other aspects of the process.

Attachment

c: Members, Board of Trustees Agenda Mailing List

Notice of Meeting October 20, 2006 Page 2

Steering Committee Membership

Roberta Achtenberg, Chair and Chair of the Board of Trustees

F. King Alexander, President, CSU Long Beach

Boice Bowman, Vice President for Student Affairs, CSU Dominguez Hills

Mark Burrell Managing Partner, The Westmark Group

Herbert Carter, Member, Board of Trustees

Marshall Cates, Secretary, ASCSU (CSU Los Angeles)

Carol R. Chandler, Member, Board of Trustees
Debra S. Farar, Member, Board of Trustees

Herbert Fischer, Superintendent of Schools, San Bernardino County Carmella Franco, Superintendent, Whittier City School District

John Gemello, Provost, San Francisco State University
Bruno Giberti, Faculty Member, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Alexander Gonzalez, President, CSU Sacramento

David Gordon Superintendent of Schools, Sacramento County

George G. Gowgani, Member, Board of Trustees

Rona Halualani, Faculty Member, San Jose State University

Dianne Harrison, President, CSU Monterey Bay William Hauck, Member, Board of Trustees

Christine Helwick. General Counsel

Raymond W. Holdsworth, Member, Board of Trustees

Andrew Janz, CSSA Representative, CSU Stanislaus
Nasim Khansari, CSSA Representative, CSU Channel Islands

Jolene Koester, President, CSU Northridge Andrew LaFlamme, Member, Board of Trustees

Jackie McClain, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources

Ray Mellado, Chairman of the Board and CEO Hispanic Engineer

National Achievement Awards Corporation

Horace Mitchell, President, CSU Bakersfield Lou Monville, Member, Board of Trustees

Karno Ng, Faculty Member, CSU San Marcos

Mary Niven Vice President, Resort Food and Beverage, Disneyland

Eduardo Ochoa, Provost, Sonoma State University

J. Michael Ortiz, President, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

Barry Pasternack, Vice Chair ASCSU (CSU Fullerton)

Paul Persons, Executive Committee, ASCSU (CSU Chico)
Charles B. Reed. Chancellor, California State University

Gary Reichard, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer

Henry Reichman, Executive Committee, ASCSU (CSU East Bay)

Jennifer Reimer, Member, Board of Trustees James Rosser, President, CSU Los Angeles Craig Smith, Member, Board of Trustees Notice of Meeting October 20, 2006 Page 3

Marshelle	Thobaben,	Chair, ASCSU (Humboldt State University)
Glen	Toney,	Member, Board of Trustees
Valerie	Vuicich	CSU Alumni Association
John	Welty,	President, CSU Fresno
Richard	West,	Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer
Paul	Zingg,	President, CSU Chico