The California State University

Bakersfield • Chico • Channel Islands • Dominguez Hills • East Bay • Fresno • Fullerton • Humboldt Long Beach • Los Angeles • Maritime Academy • Monterey Bay • Northridge • Pomona • Sacramento San Bernardino • San Diego • San Francisco • San José • San Luis Obispo • San Marcos • Sonoma • Stanislaus

Telephone: (562) 951-4020

Fax: (562) 951-4949

VERITAS

1857

Board of Trustees

Ex Officio Members

Arnold Schwarzenegger Governor

MEMORANDUM

John Garamendi Lieutenant Governor

> January 3, 2008 DATE: Fabian Nuñez

Speaker of the Assembly

of Public Instruction

Jack O'Connell TO: Trustees' Selection Committee for President of San José State University: State Superintendent

Ms. Roberta Achtenberg, Chair, Board of Trustees, ex-officio

Dr. Kenneth Fong, Member, Board of Trustees Charles B. Reed Dr. Glen O. Toney, Member, Board of Trustees Chancellor Dr. Charles B. Reed, Chancellor, ex-officio

Appointed Members

Advisory Committee: Roberta Achtenberg

Chair Dr. Ruben Armiñana, President, Sonoma State University Ms. Nancy Day, CMS Project Sr. Software Analyst, SJSU

Jeffrev L. Bleich Mr. Les Francis, Community Member Vice Chair

Mr. Benjamin Henderson, President/CEO, Associated Students SJSU Herbert L. Carter

Dr. Judith Lessow-Hurley, Chair, Academic Senate SJSU

Mr. Donald Lucas, Chair, Tower Foundation SJSU Carol R. Chandler

Mr. Fredrick Najjar, Vice President, University Advancement, SJSU Debra S. Farar Professor Annette Nellen, Professor of Accounting and Finance, SJSU

Dr. Kenneth Peter, Professor of Political Science, SJSU Kenneth Fong Ms. Patricia Smith, President, SJSU Alumni Board

George G. Gowgani

A. Robert Linscheid

Peter G. Mehas

Lou Monville

Jennifer Reimer

Glen O. Toney

William Hauck, Chair Bul Hauck Melinda Guzman FROM:

William Hauck Trustees' Selection Committee for President of San José State University

Raymond W. Holdsworth SUBJECT: Notice of Meeting – Monday, January 14, 2008

Ricardo F. Icaza

The Trustees' Selection Committee for President of San José State University will meet in open session on Monday, January 14, 2008, from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 noon, in Conference Room 225B of the Martin Luther King Jr. Library, at San José State

University, One Washington Square, San José, California 95192.

The purpose of this meeting is to discuss the role of the committee, set the schedule of meetings, discuss preferred attributes of the next president, review the descriptions of the campus and presidential position, and discuss any other business related to the

Craig R. Smith search process.

c: Members, Board of Trustees Kyriakos Tsakopoulos

Agenda Mailing List

401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California 90802-4210