## The California State University

Bakersfield • Chico • Channel Islands • Dominguez Hills • East Bay • Fresno • Fullerton • Humboldt Long Beach • Los Angeles • Maritime Academy • Monterey Bay • Northridge • Pomona • Sacramento San Bernardino • San Diego • San Francisco • San Jose • San Luis Obispo • San Marcos • Sonoma • Stanislaus

## **Board of Trustees**

Telephone: (562) 951-4020 Fax: (562) 951-4949

VERITAS

1857

Ex Officio Members

Edmund G. Brown, Jr. Governor

MEMORANDUM

Gavin Newsom Lt. Governor

DATE: February 11, 2011

John Pérez Speaker of the Assembly

Trustees' Selection Committee for President of San José State University:

Dr. Herbert L. Carter, Chair, Board of Trustees, ex-officio

Tom Torlakson State Superintendent of Public Instruction

Charles B. Reed

Chancellor

Vice Chair

Chair

Dr. Kenneth Fong, Member, Board of Trustees Ms. Melinda Guzman, Member, Board of Trustees Mr. A. Robert Linscheid, Member, Board of Trustees

Dr. Charles B. Reed, Chancellor, ex-officio

Appointed Members

A. Robert Linscheid

Nicole M. Anderson

Carol R. Chandler

**Advisory Committee:** Herbert L. Carter

TO:

Mr. John Gibbs, Immediate Past President, SJSU Alumni Assoc.

Dr. Dianne Harrison, President, CSU Monterey Bay Dr. Lynda Heiden, Assoc. Prof., Dept. of Psychology

Ms. Julie Jimenez, Budget Analyst/HR Contact, University Advancement

Dr. Michael Kaufman, Chair, Academic Senate Roberta Achtenberg

Mr. Tomasz Kolodziejak, President and CEO, Associated Students, Inc.

Ms. Constance B. Moore, Chair, Board of Directors, Tower Fdn. Dr. William Nance, Chief of Staff, SJSU Office of the President

The Trustees' Selection Committee for President of San José State University will

meet in closed session on Monday, February 21, 2011, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.,

The committee will meet the entire time in closed session, pursuant to Government code Section 11126[a] (appointment, employment of a public employee), to consider

candidate qualifications and determine which candidates to advance to the next level

and on Tuesday, February 22, 2011 from 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. in Executive Suite II of the Marriott—LAX, 5855 West Century Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045.

Dr. Jennifer Rycenga, Professor of Humanities Ms. Kim Walesh, Chief Strategist, City of San José

Steven Dixon Debra S. Farar

Kenneth Fong

FROM: Debra Farar, Chair

Trustees' Selection Committee for President of San José State University

Margaret G. Fortune

George G. Gowgani

SUBJECT: Notice of Meeting – February 21-22, 2011

Melinda Guzman

William Hauck

Hsing Kung

Raymond W. Holdsworth

Linda A. Lang

A. Robert Linscheid

Peter Mehas

Henry Mendoza

Lou Monville

Glen Toney

c: Members, Board of Trustees Agenda Mailing List

of consideration.

401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California 90802-4210