The California State University

Bakersfield • Chico • Channel Islands • Dominguez Hills • East Bay • Fresno • Fullerton • Humboldt Long Beach • Los Angeles • Maritime Academy • Monterey Bay • Northridge • Pomona • Sacramento San Bernardino • San Diego • San Francisco • San Jose • San Luis Obispo • San Marcos • Sonoma • Stanislaus

Telephone: (562) 951-4020 Fax: (562) 951-4949



Board of Trustees

Ex Officio Members

Arnold Schwarzenegger

Governor

MEMORANDUM

John Garamendi Lieutenant Governor

Fabian Nuñez Speaker of the Assembly

> Jack O'Connell State Superintendent

> of Public Instruction

Charles B. Reed Chancellor

Appointed Members

Roberta Achtenberg Chair

> Jeffrev L. Bleich Vice Chair

Herbert L. Carter

Carol R. Chandler

Moctesuma Esparza

Debra S. Farar

Kenneth Fong

George G. Gowgani

William Hauck

Raymond W. Holdsworth

Ricardo F. Icaza

A. Robert Linscheid

Peter G. Mehas

Lou Monville

Melinda Guzman Moore

Jennifer Reimer Craig R. Smith

Glen Toney

Kyriakos Tsakopoulos

401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California 90802-4210

July 26, 2007 Date:

TO: Steering Committee for Access to Excellence

(Member List Attached)

FROM: Roberta Achtenberg, Chair

SUBJECT: Notice of Telephone Conference

Tuesday, August 8 and Wednesday, August 9, 2007

The Access to Excellence Steering Committee will meet in open session on two separate conference calls which are scheduled for Tuesday, August 7 and Wednesday, August 8 from 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. PDT in Suite 610 located in the Office of the Chancellor, 401 Golden Shore, Long Beach, California, 90802. The purpose of each call is to enable committee discussion as to the nature and format of three regional stakeholder meetings including format and objectives. Steering Committee members will each choose one of the conference calls, and will provide advice via telephone to the senior project leadership, including Dr. Gary Reichard, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer. Following the two conference calls, project leadership will move forward on next steps and activities for the strategic planning effort.

Other locations for the phone call on August 7, 2007 include, 575 Market Street, San Francisco, CA; 15332 Antioch Street, Suite 509, Pacific Palisades, CA; 555 Main Street, Suite 200, Chico, CA 95928; 3421 Studio Drive, Cayucos, CA; 171 Claremont Street, Long Beach, CA 90803; and 5949 Garth Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90056; and for August 8, 2007 from 575 Market Street, San Francisco, CA.

c: Members, Board of Trustees Agenda Mailing List

Steering Committee Membership

Roberta Achtenberg, Chair and Chair of the Board of Trustees

F. King Alexander, President, CSU Long Beach

Boice Bowman, Interim President, CSU Dominguez Hills Mark Burrell Managing Partner, The Westmark Group

Herbert Carter, Member, Board of Trustees

Marshall Cates, Secretary, ASCSU (CSU Los Angeles)

Carol R. Chandler, Member, Board of Trustees
Debra S. Farar, Member, Board of Trustees

Herbert Fischer, Superintendent of Schools, San Bernardino County Carmella Franco, Superintendent, Whittier City School District

John Gemello, Provost, San Francisco State University
Bruno Giberti, Faculty Member, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Alexander Gonzalez, President, CSU Sacramento

David Gordon Superintendent of Schools, Sacramento County

George G. Gowgani, Member, Board of Trustees

Rona Halualani, Faculty Member, San Jose State University

Dianne Harrison, President, CSU Monterey Bay William Hauck, Member, Board of Trustees

Christine Helwick. General Counsel

Raymond W. Holdsworth, Member, Board of Trustees

Andrew Janz Graduate Student, CSU Stanislaus
Nasim Khansari Student, CSU Channel Islands
Jolene Koester, President, CSU Northridge
Andrew LaFlamme, Member, Board of Trustees

Jackie McClain, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources

Ray Mellado, Chairman of the Board and CEO Hispanic Engineer

National Achievement Awards Corporation

Horace Mitchell, President, CSU Bakersfield Lou Monville, Member, Board of Trustees

Karno Ng, Faculty Member, CSU San Marcos

Mary Niven Vice President, Resort Food and Beverage, Disneyland

Eduardo Ochoa, Provost, Sonoma State University

J. Michael Ortiz, President, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

Barry Pasternak, Vice Chair ASCSU (CSU Fullerton)
Charles B. Reed, Chancellor, California State University

Gary Reichard, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer

Henry Reichman, Executive Committee, ASCSU (CSU East Bay)

Jennifer Reimer, Member, Board of Trustees James Rosser, President, CSU Los Angeles Craig Smith, Member, Board of Trustees Notice of Meeting July 26, 2007 Page 3

John	Tarjan,	Executive Committee, ASCSU (CSU Bakersfield)
Marshelle	Thobaben,	Chair, ASCSU (Humboldt State University)
Glen	Toney,	Member, Board of Trustees
Valerie	Vuicich	CSU Alumni Council
Jane	Wellman	Consultant, Facilitator
John	Welty,	President, CSU Fresno
Richard	West,	Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer

Paul Zingg, President, CSU Chico