## The California State University

Bakersfield • Chico • Channel Islands • Dominguez Hills • East Bay • Fresno • Fullerton • Humboldt Long Beach • Los Angeles • Maritime Academy • Monterey Bay • Northridge • Pomona • Sacramento San Bernardino • San Diego • San Francisco • San Jose • San Luis Obispo • San Marcos • Sonoma • Stanislaus

## **Board of Trustees**

Telephone: (562) 951-4020 Fax: (562) 951-4949 VERITAS

85

Ex Officio Members

Arnold Schwarzenegger Governor

MEMORANDUM

John Garamendi Lieutenant Governor

Fabian Nuñez Speaker of the Assembly

Date:

April 12, 2007

Jack O'Connell State Superintendent of Public Instruction

TO:

Steering Committee for Access to Excellence

(Member List Attached)

Charles B. Reed Chancellor

FROM:

OM: Roberta Achtenberg, Chair

Appointed Members
Roberta Achtenberg

Chair SUBJE

SUBJECT: Notice of Meeting – Tuesday and Wednesday, April 24-25, 2007

The Steering Committee for Access to Excellence will hold a California State

University Systemwide Summit on Tuesday and Wednesday, April 24-25, 2007

at the Fairmont Hotel Newport Beach, 4500 MacArthur Blvd., Newport Beach, CA 92660. Summit check-in begins at 7:00 a.m. on Tuesday, April 24. The

Complete scheduling information can be found on the web at the following url:

The purpose of the Systemwide Summit is to further the process of developing a

plan that will identify strategic priorities to meet the challenges facing the CSU

and the individual campuses in the decade ahead. Summit attendees will review feedback from the 23 Campus Conversations, and from the Steering Committee

http://www.calstate.edu/acadaff/System\_Strategic\_Planning/Summit.shtml

meeting, and provide the basis for initiatives needed to ensure access and

Summit is scheduled to end at 2:00 p.m. on Wednesday, April 25.

Jeffrey L. Bleich Vice Chair

Herbert L. Carter

Carol R. Chandler

Moctesuma Esparza

Debra S. Farar

Debia S. Farai

Kenneth Fong

George G. Gowgani

William Hauck

Raymond W. Holdsworth

Ricardo F. Icaza

Andrew LaFlamme

A. Robert Linscheid

Attachment

Peter Mehas

c: Members, Board of Trustees

Lou Monville

Agenda Mailing List

excellence into the future.

Melinda Guzman Moore

Jennifer Reimer

Craig R. Smith

Glen Toney

Kyriakos Tsakopoulos

401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California 90802-4210

## **Steering Committee Membership**

Roberta Achtenberg, Chair and Chair of the Board of Trustees

F. King Alexander, President, CSU Long Beach

Boice Bowman, Interim President, CSU Dominguez Hills Mark Burrell Managing Partner, The Westmark Group

Herbert Carter, Member, Board of Trustees

Marshall Cates, Secretary, ASCSU (CSU Los Angeles)

Carol R. Chandler, Member, Board of Trustees
Debra S. Farar, Member, Board of Trustees

Herbert Fischer, Superintendent of Schools, San Bernardino County Carmella Franco, Superintendent, Whittier City School District

John Gemello, Provost, San Francisco State University
Bruno Giberti, Faculty Member, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Alexander Gonzalez, President, CSU Sacramento

David Gordon Superintendent of Schools, Sacramento County

George G. Gowgani, Member, Board of Trustees

Rona Halualani, Faculty Member, San Jose State University

Dianne Harrison, President, CSU Monterey Bay William Hauck, Member, Board of Trustees

Christine Helwick, General Counsel

Raymond W. Holdsworth, Member, Board of Trustees

Andrew Janz Graduate Student, CSU Stanislaus
Nasim Khansari Student, CSU Channel Islands
Jolene Koester, President, CSU Northridge
Andrew LaFlamme, Member, Board of Trustees

Jackie McClain, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources

Ray Mellado, Chairman of the Board and CEO Hispanic Engineer

National Achievement Awards Corporation

Horace Mitchell, President, CSU Bakersfield Lou Monville, Member, Board of Trustees

Karno Ng, Faculty Member, CSU San Marcos

Mary Niven Vice President, Resort Food and Beverage, Disneyland

Eduardo Ochoa, Provost, Sonoma State University

J. Michael Ortiz, President, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

Barry Pasternak, Vice Chair ASCSU (CSU Fullerton)
Charles B. Reed, Chancellor, California State University

Gary Reichard, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer

Henry Reichman, Executive Committee, ASCSU (CSU East Bay)

Jennifer Reimer, Member, Board of Trustees James Rosser, President, CSU Los Angeles Craig Smith, Member, Board of Trustees Notice of Meeting April 12, 2007 Page 3

John	Tarjan,	Executive Committee, ASCSU (CSU Bakersfield)
Marshelle	Thobaben,	Chair, ASCSU (Humboldt State University)
Glen	Toney,	Member, Board of Trustees
Valerie	Vuicich	CSU Alumni Council
Jane	Wellman	Consultant, Facilitator
John	Welty,	President, CSU Fresno
Richard	West,	Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer

Paul Zingg, President, CSU Chico