## The California State University

Bakersfield • Chico • Channel Islands • Dominguez Hills • East Bay • Fresno • Fullerton • Humboldt Long Beach • Los Angeles • Maritime Academy • Monterey Bay • Northridge • Pomona • Sacramento San Bernardino • San Diego • San Francisco • San José • San Luis Obispo • San Marcos • Sonoma • Stanislaus



Telephone: (562) 951-4020 Fax: (562) 951-4949

## Ex Officio Members **MEMORANDUM**

TO:

FROM:

Arnold Schwarzenegger Governor

**Board of Trustees** 

John Garamendi Lieutenant Governor

Fabian Nuñez Speaker of the Assembly

> Jack O'Connell State Superintendent of Public Instruction

> > Charles B. Reed Chancellor

## **Appointed Members**

Roberta Achtenberg Chair

> Jeffrev L. Bleich Vice Chair

> Herbert L. Carter

Carol R. Chandler

Debra S. Farar

Kenneth Fong

Margaret Fortune

George G. Gowgani

Curtis Grima

Melinda Guzman

William Hauck

Raymond W. Holdsworth

A. Robert Linscheid

Peter G. Mehas

Lou Monville

Jennifer Reimer

Craig R. Smith

Glen O. Toney

Kyriakos Tsakopoulos

**401 Golden Shore** Long Beach, California 90802-4210

DATE: March 27, 2008

> Trustees' Selection Committee for President of San José State University: Ms. Roberta Achtenberg, Chair, Board of Trustees, ex-officio Dr. Kenneth Fong, Member, Board of Trustees Dr. Glen O. Toney, Member, Board of Trustees Dr. Charles B. Reed, Chancellor, ex-officio Advisory Committee: Dr. Ruben Armiñana, President, Sonoma State University Ms. Nancy Day, CMS Project Sr. Software Analyst, SJSU Mr. Les Francis, Community Member Mr. Benjamin Henderson, President/CEO, Associated Students SJSU Dr. Judith Lessow-Hurley, Chair, Academic Senate SJSU Mr. Donald Lucas, Chair, Tower Foundation Board SJSU Mr. Fredrick Najjar, Vice President, University Advancement, SJSU

Professor Annette Nellen, Professor of Accounting and Finance, SJSU

Dr. Kenneth Peter, Professor of Political Science, SJSU

Ms. Patricia Smith, President, SJSU Alumni Board

William Hauck, Chair But Have Trustees' Selection Committee for President of San José State University

SUBJECT: Notice of Meeting – Thursday, April 10, and Friday, April 11, 2008

The Trustees' Selection Committee for President of San José State University will meet in closed session on Thursday, April 10, 2008, from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., and Friday, April 11, from 7:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m., in the Board Room of the Sheraton Gateway Hotel at Los Angeles International Airport, located at 6101 W. Century Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045.

The committee will meet the entire time in closed session, pursuant to Government Code Section 11126[a] (appointment, employment of a public employee), to consider candidate qualifications and determine which candidates to advance to the next level of consideration.

c: Members, Board of Trustees Agenda Mailing List