

Educator and Leadership Programs

401 Golden Shore, 6th Floor Long Beach, CA 90802-4210

www.calstate.edu

CSU Education Deans' Statement in Support of Culturally Sustaining, Equity Driven and Justice Focused Pedagogies

As leaders of Colleges and Schools of Education in the California State University System (CSU), we directly oppose any theory, practice or action that interferes with the educational process. Our goal is to ensure that we prepare educators who can uplift, inspire and engage students, all students. We will continue to provide educators with the tools that will allow them to embed student culture and lived experiences, including but not limited to, language, race and ethnicity into the curriculum so that each educator can engage each student. We are educators and that is our job. It is our responsibility to prepare educators to value and educate all children. To do so, future educators must recognize children's individual strengths and needs, the community cultural wealth they bring with them to the classroom, and the systemic challenges and opportunities that impact their experiences in TK12 schools. This requires that future educators grapple with the realities of structural racism in our society.

We strongly affirm that educators, not elected officials, should make decisions about teaching and learning. We reject the inappropriate and uninformed political attacks on any pedagogical approaches, including Critical Race Theory, and in doing so, we support academic freedom in its broadest sense.

We continue to stand with educators, faculty, students and alumni who engage culturally sustaining, equity-driven and justice-focused pedagogical practices that improve learning opportunities for all students.

Signed by:

Laura Alamillo, Dean, Sonoma State University
Ernest Black, Systemwide Director, CalStateTEACH
Rebecca Bustamante, Associated Dean, CSU Long Beach
Kim Case, Associate Dean, CSU Fullerton
Y. Barry Chung, Dean, San Diego State University
Chinaka DomNwachukwu, Dean, CSU San Bernardino
Cathi Draper Rodriguez, Chair, CSU Monterey Bay

CSU The California State University OFFICE OF THE CHANCELLOR

Mitch Fryling, Associate Dean, Charter College of Education, CSU Los Angeles

Sarah Garrity, Interim Senior Associate Dean, San Diego State University

Hend Gilli-Elewy, Interim Dean, Cal Poly Pomona

Cynthia Grutzik, Dean, San Francisco State University

Kathryn Howard, Associate Dean, CSU Channel Islands

Lisa Kirtman, Dean, CSU Fullerton

Paula Lane, Associate Dean, Sonoma State University

Heather Lattimer, Dean, San Jose State University

Elizabeth Miller, Chair, Cal Poly Humboldt

Aimee Nelson, Director, CSU Fullerton

Cheryl L. Ney, Dean, Charter College of Education, CSU Los Angeles

Elizabeth Orozco Reilly, Dean, CSU Channel Islands

Anna Ortiz, Interim Dean, CSU Long Beach

Jennifer A. Ostergren, Dean, CSU San Marcos

Jessica Pandya, Dean, CSU Dominguez Hills

Jann Pataray-Ching, Chair, Cal Poly Pomona

Shireen Pavri, Assistant Vice Chancellor, California State University

Randolph Philipp, Interim Director, School of Teacher Education, San Diego State University

Jenelle Pitt-Parker, Associate Dean, CSU Fresno

Marcos Pizarro, Associate Dean, San Jose State University

Brad Porfilio, Dean, CSU Stanislaus

Laura Portnoi, Associate Dean, CSU Long Beach

Stacie Robertson, Associate Dean, CSU San Bernardino

James Rodriguez, Dean, CSU Bakersfield

Deborah Summers, Associate Dean, CSU Chico

Shari Tarver-Behring, Dean, CSU Northridge

Kevin Taylor, Interim Dean, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Angela Trethewey, Dean, CSU Chico

Frederick Uy, Director, Educator and Leadership Programs, California State University

Joanne Van Boxtel, Associate Dean, Cal Poly Pomona

Robert A. Williams, Dean, CSU East Bay at Hayward

Pia Wong, Associate Dean, Sacramento State University

Randy Yerrick, Dean, CSU Fresno