Five women smiling and showcasing their achievement

About Us

​CSUPERB’s mission is to develop a professional biotechnology workforce through collaborative CSU student and faculty research, innovative educational practices and partnerships with the life science industry.

CSUPERB provides seed grant funding, organizes an annual biotechnology symposium, supports biotechnology-relevant curriculum redesign efforts and serves as a liaison for the CSU with government, philanthropic, educational and biotechnology industry partners. The program involves students and faculty from the departments of life, physical, computer and clinical science, engineering, agriculture, math and business at all 23 CSU campuses.

CSUPERB’s Principles

  • Biotechnology education requires the integration of disciplinary knowledge, hands-on practice, and team-based projects. These experiences effectively engage and retain students who are the first in their families to attend college or are from communities underrepresented in the life sciences. 
  • All students can build a solid foundation for successful life science careers by working on solutions for real-world problems with CSU faculty teacher-scholars in the classroom and on collaborative research teams. 
  • Partnerships with industry professionals, alumni and biotechnology organizations support the ever-evolving life sciences industry and California's regional economies. 
  • The CSU plays a critical role in California’s biotechnology ecosystem. It educates its professional workforce and innovates technologies that drive the growth and evolution of the industry.

Our Team & Collaborators

Presidents' Commission

President Sorya Coley, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
​​​​​P​resident Adela de la Torre, San Diego State University
President Gayle E. Hutchinson, California State University, Chico (Chair)
President Tom Jackson, Jr., Humboldt State University
President Saúl Jiménez-Sandoval, California State University, Fresno
President Robert S. Nelsen, Sacramento State University

Program Office Staff

Ikhide Imumorin, Ph.D., Executive Director, (619) 594-2510,
Pam Branger, Administrative Support Coordinator, (619) 594-2822
Tyson Gadd, Administrative Analyst, (619) 594-3954
R. Christine Montgomery, Student Program Specialist, (619) 594-1203
James Schmitt, Program Administrator, (619) 594-5299

Strategic Planning Council

​​ Term Ending SPC Member Campus


Paula Fischhaber, Deputy Chair
Michael Kauffman, Dean
Christop​​her Meyer, Dean
Jeffrey Roberts, Dean
Aparna Sreenivasan
Koni Stone

CSU Northridge​
​San José State University
CSU Fresno
San Diego State University
CSU Monterey Bay
CSU Stanislaus


Monica Lounsbery, Dean
Bori Mazzag
Katherine McReynolds, Chair
Miri VanHoven

CSU Long Beach
Humboldt State University
CSU Sacramento
San José State University


Michael Goldman
Sastry Pantula, Dean
Jackie Trischman, Dean

San Francisco State University
CSU San Bernardino
CSU San Marcos


Deepali Bhandari
Math Cuajungco
Matthew Escobar

CSU Long Beach
CSU Fullerton
CSU San Marcos


Faculty Consensus Group

​CampusFaculty Representative, Department, Year Term Ends (June 30)

CSU Bakersfield

Jesse Bergkamp, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2022)​
Sarah Forester, Chemistry (2024)
Isolde Francis, Biology (2022)
Amber Stokes, Biology​ (2026)  

CSU Channel Islands

Ahmed Awad, Chemistry (2025)  
Alona Kryshenko (2025) 
Nitika Parmar, Biology (2025) 
Hugo Tapia, Biology (2025)

Chico State

Kristen Gorman, Biological Sciences (2025)
Meghdad (Amin) Hajimorad, Electrical Engineering (2025)
David Keller, Biological Sciences (2024)​
Jinsong Zhang, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2025)

CSU Dominguez Hills

Kari Pederson, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2025)  
Eillen Tecle, Biology (2026)  
Philip Vieira, Psychology (2025)
Fang Wang, Biology (2023)  

Cal State East Bay

Marlin Halim, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2023)
Ram Kandasamy, Psychology (2026)   
Juleen Lam, Public Health (2026)
Monika Sommerhalter, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2025)  

Fresno State​​

Cory Brooks, Chemistry (2024)  
Jason Bush, Biology (2025)
Alejandro Calderon-Urrea, Biology (2024)  
Jacob Wenger, Plant Science (2024)

Cal State Fullerton

Math Cuajungco, Biological Sciences, (2025​)  
Niroshika Keppetipola, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2023)
Nina Robson, Mechanical En​gineering (2022)   
Marcelo Tolmasky, Biological Sciences (2022)  

Cal Poly Humboldt

Jenny Cappuccio, Chemistry (2025)  
​Bori Mazzag, Mathematics, (2022)
Mark Wilson, Biological Sciences (2022)  
Jianmin Zhong, Biological Sciences (2023)   

Cal State Long Beach

Kamiar Alaei, Health Science (2026​)
Shadnaz Asgari, Biomedical, Computer Eng. & Computer Science (2024)
Deepali Bhandari, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2025)
Amanda Fisher, Biological Sciences (2023)​

Cal State Los Angeles

Mathias Brieu, Mechanical Engineering (2025)
Michael H​ayes, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2023)
Hyunsook Park, Biological Sciences (2022)
Xin Wen, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2024)​​

Cal Maritime


Tomas Oppenheim, Mechanical Engineering (2023)
​Alex Parker, Science & Mathematics (2023)
Julie Simons, Science & Mathematics (2023)

CSU Monterey Bay

​Nathaniel Jue, Biology (2024)
Ryan Luke, Kinesiology (2022)  
Aparna Sreenivasan, Biology (2025)  

CSU Northridge

Karin Crowhurst, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2025)  
Paula Fischhaber, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2026)
Melissa Takahashi, Biology (2023)
John Valdovinos, Electrical & Computer Engineering​ (2023)

Cal Poly Pomona

Hyungchul Han, Animal & Veterinary Sciences (2026)   
​Kathryn McCulloch, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2025)
Vilupanur Ravi, Chemical & Materials Engineering (2024)
Jamie Snyder, Biological Sciences (2024)

Sacramento State

Matthew Brown, Kinesiology & Health Science (2023)
Robert Crawford, Biological Sciences (2025)
Katherine McReynolds, Chemistry (2025)
Kimberly Mulligan, Biological Sciences (2025)​​

Cal State San Bernardino

Jason Burke, Chemistry (2023)   
Jeremy Dodsworth, Biology (2023)  
Jeremy Mallari, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2025)
Daniel Nickerson, Biology (2025)   

San Diego State

Shawn O'Connor, Exercise & Nutritional Sciences (2023)
​Byron Purse, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2023)
Mahasweta Sarkar, Electrical & Computer Engineering (2023)
Manal Swairjo, Biochemistry (2025)​

San Francisco State

Lily Chen, Biology (2022)   
George Gassner, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2022) 
Michael Goldman, Biology (2025)  
Weiming Wu, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2024)   

San José State

Daryl Eggers, Chemistry (2023)  
Folarin Erogbogbo, Biomedical, Chemical & Materials Engineering (2024)   
Kasuen Mauldin, Nutrition, Food Science & Pkg (2022)  
Elizabeth Skovran, Biological Sciences (2026)   

Cal Poly​ San Luis Obispo

Jean Davidson, Biological Sciences (2025)
Christopher Heylman, Biomedical Engineering (2023)
Rodrigo Manjarin, Animal Science (2025)

Steven Wilkinson, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2024)

CSU San Marcos

Matthew Escobar, Biology (2023)
Robert Iafe, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2024)  
Darcy Taniguchi, Biological Sciences (2026)
​Yuanyuan Jiang, Computer Sci. & Information Systems​​​​​ (2025)

Sonoma State

Farid Farahmand, Engineering (2023)   
Monica Lares, Chemistry (2025)  
Omayra Ortega, Mathematics (2023)
Sean Place, Biology, (2024)

Stanislaus State

Elvin Aleman, Chemistry (2025)  
Koni Stone, Chemistry (2025)  
Tricia Van Laar, Biological Sciences ​(2026​)  
Janey Youngblom, Biological Sciences (2024)