Press Release Leadership

California State University, Monterey Bay Presidential Search Committee to Hold Virtual Open Forum




​The California State University (CSU) Board of Trustees is beginning the search for a new president of California State University, Monterey Bay (CSUMB) to succeed Eduardo M. ​Ochoa, Ph.D., who will retire as campus president on June 30, 2022.

The first meeting of the Trustees' Committee for the Selection of the President will be held in a virtual open forum from noon to 2 p.m. on Tuesday, Feb. 8. During this time, the committee will outline the search process and the community will be invited to share their preferred attributes of the next president of CSUMB. Please note that campus and community members wishing to address the committee are required to register in advance. The deadline to register to speak during the open forum is Monday, February 7 at noon. Confirmed registrants will receive details about how to participate.

CSU Trustee Julia I. Lopez will chair the committee. The other trustee members include Adam Day, Doug Faigin and Maria Linares, as well as Trustee Chair Lillian Kimbell and CSU Chancellor Joseph I. Castro.

The virtual open forum will be web-streamed live and archived on the President Search website, where individuals may also provide their input via written submission.

Board policy requires the chair of the CSU trustees to appoint an Advisory Committee to the Trustees' Committee. The Advisory Committee is composed of representatives from the faculty, staff, students and alumni, as well as a member of a campus advisory board, all of whom are selected by the campus's constituency groups. Also on the Advisory Committee is a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus—both selected by the chancellor. Both committees function as one unified group.

Members of the Advisory Committee for the Selection of the President include:

  • Vanessa Lopez-Littleton, Ph.D., associate professor and chair of the Department of Health, Human Services & Public Policy, and Rob Weisskirch, Ph.D., professor of Human Development (faculty representatives)
  • Sam Robinson, Ph.D., chair, Academic Senate
  • Vivian Waldrup-Patterson, Ph.D., interim director for teaching, learning and assessment (staff representative)
  • Ethan Anthony Quaranta and Dolores Diane Ruiz (student representatives)
  • Karen Purdy (alumni representative)
  • Deborah Juran (foundation board representative)
  • Andrew Lawson, Ph.D., dean of the College of Science (administration representative)
  • Kiran Kamath and Bettye J. Saxon (community representatives)
  • Saúl Jiménez-Sandoval, Ph.D., president, California State University, Fresno

Over the next several months, the committee will review candidates and conduct interviews.

# # #

About the California State University

The California State University is the largest system of four-year higher education in the country, with 23 campuses, 477,000 students and 56​,000 faculty and staff. Nearly 40 percent of the CSU's undergraduate students transfer from California Community Colleges. Created in 1960, the mission of the CSU is to provide high-quality, affordable education to meet the ever-changing needs of California. With its commitment to quality, opportunity and student success, the CSU is renowned for superb teaching, innovative research and for producing job-ready graduates. Each year, the CSU awards more than 132,000 degrees. One in every 20 Americans holding a college degree is a graduate of the CSU and our alumni are 4 million strong. Connect with and learn more about the CSU in the CSU NewsCenter.