Press Release Chancellor

Appointments to the Stakeholder Advisory Committee to Consider the Selection of the Chancellor Announced




A Stakeholder Advisory Committee has been appointed to assist in the confidential national search for the next California State University Chancellor, CSU Board of Trustees Chairman Adam Day announced today.

Members of the Stakeholder Advisory Committee include:

  • Catherine Nelson, Ph.D., chair, CSU Academic Senate and professor, Sonoma State University (faculty representative)
  • Robert Keith Collins, Ph.D., vice chair, CSU Academic Senate and professor, San Francisco State University (faculty representative)
  • Michael D. Hendren, facilities management, California State University, Sacramento (staff representative)
  • Michael Wiafe, president, Cal State Student Association and student, San Diego State University (student representative)
  • Jeremy Addis-Mills, president-elect, CSU Alumni​ Council and alumnus, California State University San Marcos (alumni representative)
  • Jeffrey D. Armstrong, Ph.D., president, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
  • Soraya M. Coley, Ph.D., president, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

The Advisory Committee will serve in concert with the Special Committee to Consider the Selection of the Chancellor in the search to identify a successor to Timothy P. White who announced his intent to retire at the end of the 2019-20 academic year.

Both committees will participate in a series of open forums as part of a listening tour beginning on Tuesday, November 12, from 12 p.m. to 2 p.m. in the University Union Ballroom at Sacramento State.

The forum at Sac State will be the first of six planned forums to gather feedback from stakeholders and interested parties as the committees search for the university's next chancellor. Feedback gathered at the forums will help guide the recruitment activities over the next several months, with the goal to appoint a new chancellor in summer 2020.

The open forums will also be livestreamed on the Chancellor's recruitment website. The website will provide information about the search, including a place for people to submit feedback regarding the next chancellor directly to the committees.

Chairman Day previously announced the trustees appointed to a Special Committee to Consider the Selection of the Chancellor to conduct the search. Jean Picker Firstenberg will chair the Special Committee. Other trustees participating include Debra Farar (committee vice chair), Silas Abrego, Wenda Fong, Juan Garcia, Romey Sabalius and Peter Taylor. Chairman Day, Board Vice Chair Lillian Kimbell and Chancellor White will serve as ex-officio members of the committee. Additionally, Trustee Emerita Roberta Achtenberg will serve as senior advisor to the committee.

# # #

About the California State University
The California State University is the largest system of four-year higher education in the country, with 23 campuses, 52,000 faculty and staff and 481,000 students. Half of the CSU's students transfer from California community colleges. Created in 1960, the mission of the CSU is to provide high-quality, affordable education to meet the ever-changing needs of California. With its commitment to quality, opportunity, and student success, the CSU is renowned for superb teaching, innovative research and for producing job-ready graduates. Each year, the CSU awards more than 125,000 degrees. One in every 20 Americans holding a college degree is a graduate of the CSU and our alumni are 3.7 million strong. Connect with and learn more about the CSU in the CSU NewsCenter.