Continuing and Extended Education

CSU campuses have offered Continuing and Extended Education (CEE) self-supporting courses, programs, and services for over a century. CEE offers baccalaureate and graduate degree programs, certificates, and many forms of specialized education and training for business, industry, and government. A variety of instructional technologies carry CSU courses to local, regional, national, and international audiences.

CEE programs are authorized in Section 89704 of the Education Code. In accordance with Education Code Sections 89704 and 89721(i), revenue collected from CEE and Special Session fees may be deposited in the CEE local trust. While the composition of campus CEE programs varies considerably, most units maintain the following common instructional elements: (1) Special Sessions degree, certificate, and credential programs; (2) Open University; (3) contract and extension credit; (4) non-credit certificates, courses, and programs; and (5) awarding of continuing education units.

The CSU Board of Trustees established the Commission on the Extended University (CEU) through Executive Order 811 to advise the chancellor on issues and opportunities for CEE programs within the CSU. The office of the Assistant Vice Chancellor and Dean for Continuing and Extended Education facilitates communication between the Chancellor's Office and the CEU.

On June 30, 2018, the Chancellor’s Office summary report of the CEE program showed a fund balance of $235 million.