2013 Facts About the CSU

Chancellor Timothy P. White


Responsibility for the CSU is vested in a 25-member Board of Trustees, the majority of whom are appointed by the governor to eight-year terms. Faculty, alumni and two student trustees serve two-year terms. The trustees appoint the chancellor, who is the system’s chief executive officer, and the presidents, who are the chief executive officers on their respective campuses and who report to the chancellor. The trustees, chancellor and presidents develop systemwide policies.

Board of Trustees

Ex Officio Members

Governor Edmund (Jerry) G. Brown, Jr.
Lieutenant Governor Gavin Newsom
Speaker of the Assembly John A. Pérez
State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson
CSU Chancellor Timothy P. White

Appointed Members (term ends during the year given)

Appointed Members Year
Roberta Achtenberg 2015
Bernadette Cheyne (Faculty Trustee) 2013
Rebecca D. Eisen 2018
Douglas Faigin 2017
Debra S. Farar 2014
Kenneth Fong 2013
Margaret Fortune 2016
Lupe C. Garcia 2020
Steven M. Glazer 2019
William Hauck 2017
Bob Linscheid, Chair (Alumni Trustee) 2013
Peter Mehas 2015
Henry Mendoza 2016
Lou Monville, Vice Chair 2014
Hugo N. Morales 2020
J. Lawrence Norton 2019
Ian Ruddell (Student Trustee, voting) 2013
Glen Toney 2013
Cipriano Vargas (Student Trustee, non-voting) 2014

Administrative Leaders

Timothy P. White, Chancellor
Garrett P. Ashley, Vice Chancellor, University Relations and Advancement
Gail Brooks, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources
Christine Helwick, General Counsel
Larry Mandel, University Auditor
Benjamin F. Quillian, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer
Ephraim P. Smith, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer

Campus Presidents (date is the appointment year)

Campus President Year
Bakersfield Horace Mitchell 2004
Channel Islands Richard R. Rush 2001
Chico Paul J. Zingg 2004
Dominguez Hills Willie Hagan (Interim 2012)
East Bay Leroy M. Morishita 2011
Fresno John D. Welty 1991
Fullerton Mildred García 2012
Humboldt Rollin C. Richmond 2002
Long Beach F. King Alexander 2006
Los Angeles James M. Rosser 1979
Maritime Academy Thomas A. Cropper 2012
Monterey Bay Eduardo M. Ochoa (Interim 2012)
Northridge Dianne F. Harrison 2012
Pomona J. Michael Ortiz 2003
Sacramento Alexander Gonzalez 2003
San Bernardino Tomás D. Morales 2012
San Diego Elliot Hirshman 2011
San Francisco Leslie Wong 2012
San José Mohammad H. Qayoumi 2011
San Luis Obispo Jeffrey Armstrong 2011
San Marcos Karen S. Haynes 2004
Sonoma Ruben Armiñana 1992
Stanislaus Joseph F. Sheley (Interim 2012)

Note: Leadership is as of March 2013. For a current list and links to the biographies of trustees, administrative officers and campus presidents, visit CSU Board of Trustees.