CAR/W Contacts

​Our directors, advisory board and council of faculty representatives work together to strengthen reading and writing education in California.


Dr. Tanya Flushman  Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
1 Grand Avenue
School of Education, Building 02-105
San Luis Obispo, CA, 93407-0389
(805) 756-5537

Jyothi Bathina, Ph.D.
Center for the Advancement of Reading and Writing (CAR/W)
401 Golden Shore
Long Beach, CA 90802
(562) 951-4693

Advisory Board

The CAR/W advisory board represents both CSU literacy faculty and representatives from educational stakeholders and the public. Their work assists the center in fulfilling its mission and determining its policies and direction.

External Advisors

Aileen Allison-Zarea

California Department of Education

CAR/W Governance Council

Dr. Marcy Merrill

Sacramento State

Dr Christiane Wood

CSU San Marcos

Dr. Allison Briceno

San Jose State

Council of Faculty Representatives

The faculty council is made up of one literacy faculty member from each of the 22 campuses that have teacher preparation programs and CalStateTEACH. The representatives serve as liaisons to their campuses and assist in carrying out the mission of the center.

Alice Hays, Ph.D.

CSU Bakersfield

Manuel Correia, Ph.D.

CSU Channel Islands

Susan Porter

CSU Dominguez Hills

Rosario Ordoez-Jasis

CSU Fullerton

Marisol Ruiz, Ph.D.

Humboldt State

Deborah Hamm, Ph.D.

CSU Long Beach

Jennifer McCormick, Ph.D.​

CSU Los Angeles

Joanna Wong, Ph.D.

CSU Monterey Bay

Vanessa Goodwin, Ph.D.

CSU Northridge

Marcy Merrill, Ph.D.

Sacramento State

Nicole Klimow, Ph.D.​

CSU San Bernardino

Katie Sciurba, Ph.D.

San Diego State


San Francisco State

Allison Briceno

San José State 

Julee Bauer, M​.A.

Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Christiane Wood, Ph.D.

CSU San Marcos

Kelly Estrada

Sonoma State 

Derek Riddle

Stanislaus State

Rebecca Chirchick