Academic Affairs

Task Force on the Advancement of Ethnic Studies

The Task Force:

  • Provided an overview of the origins and histories of ethnic studies programs in the CSU within a national context.
  • Identified the trends in the campus' programs within the context of institutional support and the national climate, particularly over the past 8-10 years.
  • Proposed systemwide recommendations that were responsive to the mission of the CSU and to the needs of our students, California, and society in general. This included examining our degrees, majors, and minors/concentrations as well as the resources, staffing, administrative infrastructures, and cost effective and equitable approaches that sustain and advance ethnic studies while enhancing program quality and inclusive excellence.

The Task Force members were appointed by the Chancellor and included members drawn or nominated from the faculty, students, academic senate, campus presidents, provosts, VP for Student Affairs, and included:

Mildred Garcia, President, CSU Fullerton
Elliot Hirshman, President, San Diego State University
Horace Mitchell, Task Force Chair, President, CSU Bakersfield
Leslie Wong, President, San Francisco State Univsersity
Melina Abdullah, Chair, Department of Pan-African Studies, CSU Los Angeles
Scott Andrews, Coordinator, American Indian Studies, CSU Northridge
Teresa Carrillo***, Associate Professor and Chair of Latina/Latino Studies,
San Francisco State University
Christine D. Lovely, Vice President, Human Resources, CSU Sacramento
Linda España-Maram***, Professor Asian American Studies, CSU Long Beach
Devon Graves**, Chair of the CSSA Board, Cal Poly Pomona
Taylor Herren**, ASI President, Chico State University
Ellen Junn, Provost, CSU Dominguez Hills
Maulana Karenga***, Professor and Chair of Africana Studies, CSU Long Beach
Loretta Kensinger*, Women's Studies Program, CSU Fresno
Kenneth Monteiro***, Dean, College of Ethnic Studies,
San Francisco State University
Boatamo Mosupyoe***, Professor and Chair Ethnic Studies, CSU Sacramento
Marcos Pizarro, Chair, Mexican American Studies, San José State University
Anthony R. Ross, Vice President of Student Affairs, CSU Los Angeles
Craig Stone***, Professor of American Indian Studies and Art, CSU Long Beach

Ron Vogel, Vice Provosts for Academic Affairs, CSU Los Angeles

Sabrina Sanders, executive staff to the task force, Assistant Director Student Programs, Academic Affairs, Chancellor's Office, ex officio,

Evelyn Young Spath, Executive Staff,

*Academic Senate representative
**CSSA nominees
***Nominated by system-wide ethnic studies faculty