CSU Sacramento Search Gets Underway

(Oct. 17, 2002) The first meeting of the California State University's committee to select a new president of CSU Sacramento will be held from 8-9:30 a.m., Friday, Oct. 18, in the Sierra Room in Sacramento Hall on the campus.

Members of the Trustees' Committee for the Selection of the President of CSU Sacramento are: Chair and Trustee Bill Hauck; Trustee William "Denny" Campbell; Trustee Martha C. Walda; Board of Trustees' Chair Debra Farar; and CSU Chancellor Charles B. Reed.

Members of the Advisory Committee to the Trustees' Committee for the Selection of the President are: Ruben Arminana, President, Sonoma State University; Marion O'Leary, Dean, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, CSU Sacramento; Robert Buckley, Chair, Faculty Senate, CSU Sacramento; Eric Guerra, President, Sacramento Associated Students, Inc., CSU Sacramento; Curtis Sproul, Chair, Community Advisory Board, CSU Sacramento; Cindy Collins, Administrative Analyst/Specialist, College of Natural Sciences & Mathematics, CSU Sacramento; Larry Augusta, CSU Sacramento Alumni Association; Cecil Canton, CSU Sacramento professor of criminal justice; and Leah Vande Berg, CSU Sacramento professor of communication studies.

The purpose of the meeting is to discuss the role of the committee, set the schedule of meetings, review the descriptions of the campus and the presidential position, and discuss any other business related to the search process.

CSU Sacramento President Don Gerth announced recently that he will retire in summer 2003. He will have been president for 19 years, and spent a total of 45 years in the CSU system, including serving as president of CSU Dominguez Hills.

The October 18 meeting is the only open session of the committee. The remainder of the meetings will be closed as the committee reviews resumes and conducts interviews. As part of the search process, the finalists for the position will be brought to the campus for all-day visits, including an open session. A new president is expected to be named by the CSU Board of Trustees in March 2003.

Error processing SSI file

Last Updated: 31 October 2002

Error processing SSI file