Cal Poly Pomona Presidential Search Gets Underway

(Oct. 28, 2002) -- The first meeting of the California State University's committee to select a new president of California State Polytechnic University, Pomona will be held from 10-11:30 a.m., Tuesday, November 5, in the Campus Vista Room of the Kellogg West Conference Center on the Cal Poly Pomona campus.

Under the CSU Board of Trustees' presidential selection policy, adopted in 1997, the chair of the board establishes a five-person Trustees' Committee for the Selection of the President, which is composed of the chair of the board, the chancellor and three trustees, one of whom is designated as committee chair by the board chair. Board policy also requires the chair to appoint an advisory group to the trustees' committee. The Advisory Committee to the Trustees' Committee for the Selection of the President is composed of representatives of the faculty, staff, students and alumni, as well as a member of the campus advisory board, all of whom are selected by the campus. Also on the advisory committee are a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus selected by the chancellor.

Members of the Trustees' Selection Committee for the President of California State Polytechnic University, Pomona are Trustees Anthony M. Vitti, (chair); Harold Goldwhite; Ralph R. Pesqueira; Board of Trustees' Chair Debra S. Farar and CSU Chancellor Charles B. Reed.

Members of the Advisory Committee to the Trustees' Committee for the Selection of the President are Warren J. Baker, president, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo; Jesse Cerda, vice president, Cal Poly Pomona Associated Students; Jon Lundstrom, Cal Poly Pomona Alumni Association; Robert J. Kain, University Education Trust; Lisa Rotunni, Cal Poly Pomona director of staff services, College of Engineering; Barbara Way, dean, Cal Poly Pomona College of Letters, Arts, and Social Sciences; and Roger L. Morehouse, chair, Cal Poly Pomona Academic Senate. Two additional Cal Poly Pomona faculty members will be named prior to the meeting. The purpose of the meeting is to discuss the role of the committee, set the schedule of meetings, review the descriptions of the campus and the presidential position, and discuss any other business related to the search process.

The November 5 meeting is the only open session of the committee. The remainder of the meetings will be closed as the committee reviews resumes and conducts interviews. As part of the search process, the finalists for the position will be brought to the campus for all-day visits, including an open session.

A new president is expected to be named by the CSU Board of Trustees by March 2003.

Current President Bob Suzuki announced in September that he will retire in summer 2003. He will have completed 12 years as president when he retires, and a total 22 years in the CSU system. Before coming to Cal Poly, he spent four years as dean of graduate studies and research at Cal State L.A. and six years as vice president for academic affairs at CSU Northridge before assuming the Pomona presidency in 1991.

The California State University is the largest system of senior higher education in the country, with 23 campuses, more than 405,000 students and 44,000 faculty and staff. Since the system was created in 1961, it has awarded about 2 million degrees. The CSU is renowned for the quality of its teaching and for the job-ready graduates it produces. Its mission is to provide high-quality, affordable education to meet the ever-changing needs of the people of California. With its commitment to excellence, diversity and innovation, the CSU is the university system that is Working for California. See

Contact: Colleen Bentley-Adler, (562) 951-4801,

Error processing SSI file

Last Updated:28 October 2002

Error processing SSI file