Campus: CSU, Bakersfield -- December 10, 1999

CSUB Debate Team Climbs In National Rankings

The California State University, Bakersfield debate team has climbed national rankings, standing currently at 12th in the nation, one of only two small colleges among the top 20 collegiate debate teams. Midway in the competitive intercollegiate debate season, CSUB is aiming to break into the top 10 before the season ends.

"Our first priority is to win in our district, District 1, against some of the best teams in the country, including Cal and USC," said team coach Omar Guevara, a CSUB communications professor. Currently, CSUB is third in the district, behind the University of Southern California and the University of California, Berkeley. CSUB will host this year's district tournament in February 2000.

The Roadrunner team made an appearance in a final round of an important tournament early in December at the Fiesta Invitational hosted by Arizona State University in Tempe.

Jeremy Peterson and David Wells went 5-1 in preliminaries, defeated Southern Utah in the quarterfinal round, Augustana (Illinois) in the semifinal round, only to lose a close decision to CSU Fullerton in the final round. Wells was ranked as the second best speaker of the tournament.

William Mord and acting team captain Adam Cosper went 4-2 in preliminaries and defeated the College of Eastern Utah in the quarterfinal round. They lost in their semifinal bracket to the same CSU Fullerton team that went on to beat Peterson and Wells in finals.

ASU was the seventh tournament of the quarter and the second appearance by CSUB in the highly competitive Rocky Mountain Conference.

CSUB will next compete at the highly competitive University of Southern California tournament Dec. 28-31 and at the CSU Long Beach tournament Jan. 1-4, 2000.

From September to April, CSUB debaters compete in 14 tournaments throughout the western United States. Their goal is to gain enough victories to earn an invitation to the national tournament, which this year will be held at the University of Missouri in Kansas City. Only 74 teams will qualify for the national competition.

Team members also include Leah Clark, Pawan Gill, Jonathan Hazlett, and Veronica Macias-Lucero.

For more information about the CSUB debate program, call Omar Guevara, Director of Forensics, 661/664-220.

Public Affairs Offices/Campus News
[Bakersfield] [Chancellor's Office] [Channel Islands] [Chico] [Dominguez Hills] [Fresno] [Fullerton] [Hayward] [Humboldt] [Long Beach] [Los Angeles] [Maritime Academy] [Monterey_Bay] [Northridge] [Pomona] [Sacramento] [San_Bernardino] [San Diego] [San_Francisco] [San Jose] [San Luis Obispo] [San Marcos] [Sonoma] [Stanislaus]