Campus: CSU, Stanislaus -- September 8, 1999

Top Students Flock to President's Scholars Program

Fourteen top graduates of regional high schools have made California State University, Stanislaus their choice as the newest recipients of the President's Academic and Leadership Scholarships.

The number of students who will take advantage of the scholarship program in 1999-2000 is nearly double that of last year.

Founded by CSU Stanislaus President Marvalene Hughes in 1995 and backed by increasing donor support, the program provides scholarships to top academic and student leader graduates in the University's six-county region. High school class valedictorians who enroll at CSU Stanislaus receive $2,500 scholarships and student body presidents receive $1,000 toward their first year of school. Dr. Hughes has placed a strong emphasis on attracting the area's top high school scholars with scholarships in an effort to keep academic talent in the region.

"CSU Stanislaus is extremely proud that more of these outstanding students have chosen this University to start their higher education careers," President Hughes said. "They are the best, brightest, and hardest working students in this region, as they have proven during their high school years. We're thrilled that they are bringing their educational pursuits to our fine University, and will do all we can to encourage them as they strive for their professional dreams. They will have the opportunity to excel at CSU Stanislaus as future leaders."

Through the 1998-99 school year, 34 of the Presidential scholarships have been awarded to high school graduates in the University's six-county area and 29 are still enrolled at CSU Stanislaus. Five of this year's new scholars have been admitted to the University's Honors program, which provides special classes and sessions for top students.

Student scholarship recipients joining the program this year include:

Valedictorians Pardeep Dosanjh of Ceres High; Jessica Gentes of Don Pedro High; Brian Lehr of Manteca High; Joshua Lippincott of Downey High in Modesto; Marie Nelson of Turlock Christian High; Vanessa Perez of Riverbank High; Melissa Strickland of Dos Palos High; Melissa Valenzuela of Modesto Christian High; Jessica Ward of Oakdale High; and Maria Zermeno of Hughson High.

Student Body Presidents Zack Harless of Modesto Christian High; Meko Nichols of Ripon High; Angelina Santillan of Riverbank High; Marie Vega of Ceres High; Everett Vieira of Livingston High.

Public Affairs Offices/Campus News
[Bakersfield] [Chancellor's Office] [Channel Islands] [Chico] [Dominguez Hills] [Fresno] [Fullerton] [Hayward] [Humboldt] [Long Beach] [Los Angeles] [Maritime Academy] [Monterey_Bay] [Northridge] [Pomona] [Sacramento] [San_Bernardino] [San Diego] [San_Francisco] [San Jose] [San Luis Obispo] [San Marcos] [Sonoma] [Stanislaus]