Campus: CSU, Hayward -- June 16, 2000

National Science Foundation Grant Will Link University to Internet2

The National Science Foundation has awarded $175,000 to California State University, Hayward so it can upgrade its high-performance computing and join 176 other U.S. universities as part of a national grid of research networks.

The university will join CSU San Bernardino and Cal Poly Pomona as the only three of the 23 California State University campuses with access to Internet2.

"The first-generation Internet network that most people are using now, as with all things high-tech, is already inadequate in many areas," said Michael Leung, dean of the CSUH School of Science. "The National Science Foundation has started to work with universities and industry to build a new high-speed and large bandwidth network called Internet2."

Leung said Internet2 will have many applications on campus, including improving connections with other universities who use Cal State Hayward's MAGIC electron microscope center via Internet access. The university also will benefit from real-time modeling of satellite guidance systems, wireless communications support for multimedia streams, and improved routing for multipoint Internet teleconferencing.

The group of research networks that CSUH will join operates at speeds up to 2.4 gigabits per second. The grid includes a number of high-speed government networks, the Internet2 consortium's Abilene network, and vBNS, a high-performance Backbone Network Service owned by MCI WorldCom Inc.

The successful grant application was submitted by Leung, John Charles from CSUH Information and Computing Services, professor Chris Morgan from the Mathematics and Computer Science Department, and professor Alex Bordetsky, who directs the university's TELCOT satellite telecommunications research center. Collaborating institutions include the Lawrence Livermore, Sandia and Oak Ridge national laboratories.

Public Affairs Offices/Campus News
[Bakersfield] [Chancellor's Office] [Channel Islands] [Chico] [Dominguez Hills] [Fresno] [Fullerton] [Hayward] [Humboldt] [Long Beach] [Los Angeles] [Maritime Academy] [Monterey_Bay] [Northridge] [Pomona] [Sacramento] [San_Bernardino] [San Diego] [San_Francisco] [San Jose] [San Luis Obispo] [San Marcos] [Sonoma] [Stanislaus]