CSU Office of the Chancellor -- May 12, 2000

Laurence K. Gould and Dee Dee Myers Elected Chair and Vice Chair of the CSU Board of Trustees

Laurence K. Gould Jr. and Dee Dee Myers were elected as the new chair and vice chair of the California State University Board of Trustees. Trustee William Hauck, who has served as chair for the past two years, made the announcement.

"It has given me great pleasure to serve as chair on this board with all of you," Hauck said. "In my last meeting as chair, I want to express my great appreciation to all of you; I am honored by the trust you have placed in me."

Gould, a Pasadena resident, has been a Trustee since 1996 (he was appointed by then-Gov. Peter Wilson) and is an attorney with Sheppard, Mullin, Richter, & Hampton in Los Angeles. He is the current chair of the Trustees' Committee on Organization and Rules and vice chair of its Committee on Finance. He also chaired the search for the new president of CSU Northridge.

Active in many civic organizations, Gould is a trustee for the Della Martin Foundation; treasurer of the John and Beverly Stauffer Foundation; president of the California Mission Studies Association; and director of the California State Summer School for the Arts.

"I both accept and appreciate this opportunity," said Gould.

Former White House press secretary and political analyst Dee Dee Myers was appointed to the board last year by Gov. Gray Davis. Myers, a Los Angeles resident, has her own business, Dee Dee Myers and Associates, and is a regular guest on NBC's "Today Show" and other programs. She is a consultant to the popular television series, "West Wing." Myers is also a lecturer on politics, current events, and women's issues.

"I commend Trustee Hauck on a job well done," said CSU Chancellor Charles B. Reed. "He has guided this Board with his exceptional leadership and provided me with wise counsel. I know that Trustees Gould and Myers will continue the tradition of strong leadership that will benefit the students, faculty and staff at all the campuses of the California State University."

Gould and Myers' first meeting as chair and vice chair will be July 18-19.

Also, named to chair the following were: Fred Pierce, Audit; Stanley Wang, Campus Planning, Buildings and Grounds; Ralph Pesqueira, Collective Bargaining; Dee Dee Myers, Educational Policy; William Hauck, Finance; Martha Fallgatter, Governmental Relations; Ali Razi, Institutional Advancement; Roberta Achtenberg, Organization and Rules; and Bob Foster, University Faculty and Personnel.

In addition, a new ad hoc committee on academic planning at new university campuses and satellite sites will be chaired by Denny Campbell, and Pesqueira was named as the Trustee representative to the California Post Secondary Education Commission.

Public Affairs Offices/Campus News
[Bakersfield] [Chancellor's Office] [Channel Islands] [Chico] [Dominguez Hills] [Fresno] [Fullerton] [Hayward] [Humboldt] [Long Beach] [Los Angeles] [Maritime Academy] [Monterey_Bay] [Northridge] [Pomona] [Sacramento] [San_Bernardino] [San Diego] [San_Francisco] [San Jose] [San Luis Obispo] [San Marcos] [Sonoma] [Stanislaus]