Campus: CSU, Fullerton -- May 8, 2000

Record Number of Incoming President's Scholars Named

A record number of the region's best-and-brightest high school seniors will enter Cal State Fullerton this fall as President's Scholars-the most prestigious status the university accords to incoming students. The group of 26 includes twin brothers from Rowland Heights.

Selected on the basis of their superior academic and extracurricular records in high school, the scholars are (by cities of residence):

Buena Park

Patrick Faecke of Western High School, criminal justice major; Helen Medina also of Western High School, English major


Martina Chvalkovska Albers of Santiago High School, undeclared major; Sarah Yoshikawa of Corona High School, child development major


Scott Norton of Pacifica High School, undeclared major


Jessica Clark of Troy High School, kinesiology major

Garden Grove

Rocio Trinidad of Saddleback High School, undeclared major

La Habra

Rachel Purcell of Whittier Christian High School, biological science major

La Palma

Ryan Candelaria of Buena Park High School, elementary education major

La Verne

Sean Higgens of Damien High School, undeclared major


Jaime Mullen of Lakewood High School, business major

Morongo Valley

Melissa Warstler of Palm Springs High School, music major


Michelle Nguyen of Valencia High School, communications major

Rancho Cucamonga

Marie Burns of Alta Loma High School, theatre arts major


Emily Lutz of Arlington High School, music major

Rowland Heights

Brothers Scott and Steven Hsieh of John A. Rowland High School, undeclared majors

Santa Ana

Duyen (Amy) Bui of Los Amigos High School, biological science and biochemistry majors; Loralee Larios also of Los Amigos High School, economics major

Twentynine Palms

Bernadette Marquez of Twentynine Palms High School, biological science major


Edward De La Torre of Saint Paul High School, biological science major; and Jessica Tincopa of Rosary High School, communications major

Yorba Linda

Jess Battaglia of Esperanza High School, business administration major; Ross McCollum of Troy High School, kinesiology major; and Stephanie Proctor also of Esperanza High School, mathematics major


Lianne Dumas of Yucaipa High School, music major

Established in 1979, the President's Scholars Program recognizes and attracts a distinguished group of academically accomplished students from the Southern California area. These incoming freshmen receive a full scholarship that covers all student fees plus a $750 annual stipend for textbooks for up to four years, as long as they maintain a 3.5 grade-point average and contribute to university and community activities. All scholars are granted automatic admission to the University Honors Program, use of a laptop computer, priority registration, consideration for on-campus housing and complimentary parking permits. They also will have opportunities to attend special seminars and receptions and meet periodically with the university president. The program is supported by the President's Associates.

Community members who served on the screening committee are Peggy Hammer of Placentia and Helena Schwartz of Fullerton.

MEDIA CONTACTS: Dr. Susan M. Parman, chair of the President's Scholars Screening Committee, and chair and professor of anthropology at Cal State Fullerton, at (714) 278-3626; or Gail Matsunaga, Public Affairs, at (714) 278-4851

Public Affairs Offices/Campus News
[Bakersfield] [Chancellor's Office] [Channel Islands] [Chico] [Dominguez Hills] [Fresno] [Fullerton] [Hayward] [Humboldt] [Long Beach] [Los Angeles] [Maritime Academy] [Monterey_Bay] [Northridge] [Pomona] [Sacramento] [San_Bernardino] [San Diego] [San_Francisco] [San Jose] [San Luis Obispo] [San Marcos] [Sonoma] [Stanislaus]