Campus: CSU, Long Beach -- February 23, 2000

Cal State Long Beach Receives $70,400 from Beckman Scholars Program for 2000-2001

California State University, Long Beach has been named one of just 18 institutions nationwide to receive the prestigious Beckman Scholars Program Institutional Awards for 2000-01, it was announced by President Robert C. Maxson.

The Beckman Foundation makes grants to non-profit research institutions to promote research in chemistry and life sciences. The scholarships are used to advance the education, research training and personal development of students who have the potential to achieve distinction in their academic field, as well as become outstanding leaders in their careers and professions.

"Beckman Scholars have an outstanding reputation and we are extremely proud to be included among that elite group," said Maxson. "It verifies the kind of reputation we have gained in the past few years in the area of research and student involvement and this will enable us to expand that standing."

The university will receive four student awards totaling $70,400, the most given to any single institution. The scholarships cover two summers of research and one academic year for each of the selected students.

"The dollar amount to the university may not seem large," said Laura Kingsford, chair for the Department of Biological Sciences, who served as principle investigator for the award, "but what it amounts to is four really good, prestigious scholarships for students."

The lone requirement the Beckman Foundation puts on its scholarship award is that one student must have come from a community college and completed one academic quarter/semester. The remaining standards are left up to each institution.

"We have set the grade point average minimum at 3.25," said Kingsford. "We want to open it up to as many students as possible. Beckman is looking for exceptionally talented undergraduate students who will go on to science careers and be leaders in their field. Thus, GPA is not the only consideration. We are looking for students who have outstanding leadership abilities, outstanding oral and written communication skills and have demonstrated ability in their major."

The scholarship awards provide unique opportunities for excellence through sustained, in-depth, faculty-mentored laboratory research experiences for selected undergraduates. To receive this award, CSULB had to convincingly demonstrate excellence, distinction, and distinctiveness in its undergraduate research capabilities and commitments as well as its plans and activities for the Beckman Scholars.

CSULB faculty providing mentoring for this program include Judith Brusslan, Jeffrey Cohlberg, Editte Gharakhanian, Kevin Kelley, Lisa Klig, Lijuan Li, Jing Liu, Andrew Mason, Douglas McAbee and Toni Stanton.

Public Affairs Offices/Campus News
[Bakersfield] [Chancellor's Office] [Channel Islands] [Chico] [Dominguez Hills] [Fresno] [Fullerton] [Hayward] [Humboldt] [Long Beach] [Los Angeles] [Maritime Academy] [Monterey_Bay] [Northridge] [Pomona] [Sacramento] [San_Bernardino] [San Diego] [San_Francisco] [San Jose] [San Luis Obispo] [San Marcos] [Sonoma] [Stanislaus]