Campus: CSU, Fullerton -- January 24, 2000

Cal State Fullerton's Seven Schools Become Colleges

More than a quarter-century after Cal State Fullerton became a university, the campus' seven schools are being renamed colleges in recognition of the growing size, complexity, maturity and stature of the university's major academic subdivisions, its programs and its faculty.

"This change could not have come at a better time as we celebrate our 40 years of academic excellence," said President Milton A. Gordon. "The change in the names of our schools is a reflection of that excellence, of our educational strength in providing a high-quality education to our students, as well as a sign of the leadership we provide in the community."

Effective Wednesday--the first day of the spring semester--the schools of the Arts, Business Administration and Economics, Communications, Engineering and Computer Science, Humanities and Social Sciences, Human Development and Community Service, and Natural Science and Mathematics become colleges. In addition, the name of the business college is shortened to: the College of Business and Economics. For NSM, 'Science' goes plural for the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics.

"This is an appropriate recognition," said Dr. Keith O. Boyum, acting associate vice president for academic programs. "The schools have shown a level of program specialization and faculty distinctiveness that surely warrants this change in name.

"'College' is the traditional term for the major subdivision," he added. "It has a connotation that more accurately reflects the stature of Fullerton's faculty and programs and conveys the quality that we offer," Boyum noted. "It mirrors standard practice in American higher education."

Within the California State University system, 13 of the system's 22 campuses have named their major subdivisions colleges. All nine of the University of California campuses house major academic units in colleges.

The renaming was recommended by the Academic Senate and approved in the fall by President Gordon. The deans of the colleges will retain their titles as deans; and no additional administrative positions, changes in level or rank, are tied to the name changes.

"This will give us greater flexibility in our academic programming and development," Gordon said. "Once the change is made, several units could and should be developed into schools. I am glad to be at this stage of development for Cal State Fullerton."

Public Affairs Offices/Campus News
[Bakersfield] [Chancellor's Office] [Channel Islands] [Chico] [Dominguez Hills] [Fresno] [Fullerton] [Hayward] [Humboldt] [Long Beach] [Los Angeles] [Maritime Academy] [Monterey_Bay] [Northridge] [Pomona] [Sacramento] [San_Bernardino] [San Diego] [San_Francisco] [San Jose] [San Luis Obispo] [San Marcos] [Sonoma] [Stanislaus]