Campus: CSU, Fullerton -- June 21, 2001

2001-2002 President's Scholars Named at CSUF

This fall, 37 of the region's best-and-brightest graduating high school seniors will enter Cal State Fullerton, as President's Scholars--the most prestigious status the university accords to incoming students. They will constitute the largest class of President's Scholars in the program's history.

BACKGROUND: Established in 1979, the President's Scholars program recognizes and attracts a distinguished group of academically accomplished students. In addition to the use of wireless laptop computers, these incoming freshmen receive a full scholarship that covers all student fees and a $750 annual stipend for textbooks for up to four years, so long as they maintain a 3.5 grade-point average and contribute to university and community activities. All scholars are granted automatic admission to the university Honors Program, priority registration, complimentary parking permits and consideration for on-campus housing. They also have opportunities to attend special seminars and receptions and meet periodically with the university president.

WHO: Selected on the basis of superior academic and extracurricular achievement in high school, the scholars (by cities of residence) and their majors are:


Dmitry Koudymov of Esperanza High School, music


Jessica Fox of Brea Olinda High School, biological science

Buena Park

Chad Smith of Savanna High School, undeclared major, and Kristin Torres of Fullerton Union High School, liberal studies


Kelsey Gile of Buchanan High School, theatre arts-musical theatre


Joanna Fransen of Corona High School, business administration

Diamond Bar

Katherine Garcia of Pomona Catholic High School, biological science; Aaron Salcido of Diamond Ranch High School, business administration; and Rosanne Yetemian, also of Diamond Ranch High School, biological science


April Ulloa of Sunny Hills High School, undeclared major

Garden Grove

Scott Lyons of Garden Grove High School, computer science


Patricia Thomas of Charter Oak High School, art

Huntington Beach

Leilani DiCato of Huntington Beach High School, theatre arts

La Habra Heights

Andrea Dodson of Fullerton Union High School, music

La Mirada

Jennifer Vasquez of La Mirada High School, English

La Puente

Anthony Santos of La Puente High School, art, and Melody Vazquez of Nogales High School, undeclared major

La Quinta

Melissa Bobbitt of La Quinta High School, communications

La Verne

Jennifer Warfel of Bonita High School, biochemistry

Long Beach

Sarah Jay of Los Alamitos High School, history


Andrea Wagner of Bishop Amat Memorial High School, communications


Melanie Lakey of Norwalk High School, political science, and Justin Tolentino of Santa Fe High School, computer science


Adam Bakonis of El Modena High School, business administration


Jared Eichelberger of Marian Catholic High School, business administration


Bethany O'Connor of Ramona High School, communications


Daniel Foster of Rocklin High School, biological science, and Cole Richardson also of Rocklin High School, mathematics

Santa Fe Springs

Christopher Tuason of Santa Fe High School, engineering

Twentynine Palms

Prelita Marquez of Twentynine Palms High School, undeclared major


Dustin Barr of Hesperia High School, music


Maria Greenwood of Marina High School, music


Courtney Brennan of La Habra High School, communications


Annette Tarnowski of Elsinore High School, music

Yorba Linda

Lynn Penkingcarn of Troy High School, communications, and Jennifer Ray of Esperanza High School, art


Ryan Neil of Arrowhead Christian Academy, theatre arts

COMMUNITY VOLUNTEERS: Community members who served on the screening committee include Peggy Hammer of Placentia, Verne Wagner and Helena Schwartz of Fullerton, and Donna Geer of Upland.

MEDIA CONTACTS: Dr. Susan Parman, chair of the President's Scholars Screening Committee, and chair and professor of anthropology at Cal State Fullerton, at (714) 278-3626 or

Susan Katsaros of Public Affairs, at (714) 278-4854 or

Public Affairs Offices/Campus News
[Bakersfield] [Chancellor's Office] [Channel Islands] [Chico]
[Dominguez Hills] [East Bay] [Fresno] [Fullerton] [Humboldt] [Long Beach] [Los Angeles] [Maritime Academy] [Monterey_Bay] [Northridge] [Pomona] [Sacramento] [San Bernardino] [San Diego] [San Francisco] [San Jose] [San Luis Obispo] [San Marcos] [Sonoma] [Stanislaus]