Campus: Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo -- May 23, 2001

Cal Poly Faculty Member Named Ag Teacher of the Year

Lynn L. Hamilton, a faculty member in the Agribusiness Department in the College of Agriculture, was selected as the Outstanding Teacher of the Year by the National Association of Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture, a professional society that promotes excellence in teaching agriculture.

The award, officially given by the American Association of State Colleges of Agriculture and Renewable Resources, is presented to an outstanding teacher of agriculture early in his or her career.

Hamilton is the second Cal Poly College of Agriculture faculty member to receive the award in the last four years.

The award is based on a number of criteria, including teaching experience and service to undergraduate students, interaction with students outside the classroom, academic and career advising, supervising internships, and placement of graduates.

The award also recognizes excellence in teaching methodology, service to the teaching profession, and curriculum development.

"Dr. Hamilton is an outstanding instructor inside and outside of the classroom," said College of Agriculture Dean Joseph J. Jen. "The students love her, her peers like her, and administrators enjoy having her on their team. She is innovative, adopts new teaching techniques quickly, has a sound teaching philosophy, serves as the faculty advisor to the largest student club in the college, and always has the students' welfare in mind."

In his nominating letter, Jen said, Hamilton "is one of those model instructors that the AASCARR Institute dreamed of, but didn't have enough of to go around."

As a biochemist by training himself, Jen said he often wondered, "When can we start to clone university teachers and instructors?" and noted that if given the opportunity, he would clone Hamilton.

The National Association of Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture is a professional society that focuses on promotion and recognition of excellence in teaching agriculture and related areas at the postsecondary level in North America. Members of the organization are from two-year and four-year colleges, public and private, and have a common bond of teaching agriculture and related subjects.

Hamilton will receive the award at the 47th Annual Conference of the National Association of Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture that will be hosted by the University of Saskatchewan College of Agriculture in June.

Public Affairs Offices/Campus News
[Bakersfield] [Chancellor's Office] [Channel Islands] [Chico]
[Dominguez Hills] [East Bay] [Fresno] [Fullerton] [Humboldt] [Long Beach] [Los Angeles] [Maritime Academy] [Monterey_Bay] [Northridge] [Pomona] [Sacramento] [San Bernardino] [San Diego] [San Francisco] [San Jose] [San Luis Obispo] [San Marcos] [Sonoma] [Stanislaus]