Cal Poly Partners with San Luis Coastal Unified School District Partnership Creates New Digital Media Arts Elementary School

Cal Poly will bring its highly acclaimed learn-by-doing philosophy to a Central Coast elementary school this fall.

A partnership between Cal Poly's College of Education and the San Luis Coastal Unified School District has led to a groundbreaking new curriculum and a brand-new name for C.E. Teach School, a magnet elementary school for accelerated learners.

Now called C.E. Teach School, a Digital Media Arts Magnet Elementary, the school will team with education technology Professor Louis Rosenberg and his graduate students to bring the latest innovative technologies into Teach classrooms.

Digital movie-making, claymation, stop motion animation, and time-lapse video are just a few of the hi-tech tools elementary students will use to learn the basic principles of math, science, history, and language arts, according to Rosenberg.

"Today's kids were born into a world where digital media is the central communication medium," says Rosenberg. "The new school we've planned will help prepare kids for the future by treating digital media as a fundamental aspect of modern literacy, teaching it along side reading and writing as a core curriculum element."

The partnership benefits elementary school students and Cal Poly graduate students as well, according to Rosenberg. Ed-tech graduate students will fulfill their technology specialization requirements by teaching innovative hi-tech lessons at Teach. In addition, one student will be selected for the Educational Technology Fellowship and act as the on-site coordinator for the ed-tech program at Teach.

"We are thrilled to partner with Cal Poly on this innovative use of digital media in elementary classrooms," says Don Nicholson, the C.E. Teach principal. "Students are registering now for next fall. Open enrollment runs through April 5."

Contact:Pat Ketchum, Cal Poly Media Relations, at 756-7109 or

Public Affairs Offices/Campus News
[Bakersfield] [Chancellor's Office] [Channel Islands] [Chico]
[Dominguez Hills] [East Bay] [Fresno] [Fullerton] [Humboldt] [Long Beach] [Los Angeles] [Maritime Academy] [Monterey_Bay] [Northridge] [Pomona] [Sacramento] [San Bernardino] [San Diego] [San Francisco] [San Jose] [San Luis Obispo] [San Marcos] [Sonoma] [Stanislaus]