Campus: Bakersfield -- May 17, 2006

CSSA Honors CSU Bakersfield President

Dr. Horace Mitchell, president of California State University, Bakersfield, has been named the 2005-06 recipient of the "Robert C. Maxson President of the Year Award," given by the California State Students Association (CSSA).

The award was presented at the May meeting of the CSU Board of Trustees.

The award, named for former CSU Long Beach President Robert C. Maxson, is given annually to a president of one of the 23 campuses within the CSU.

Mitchell has been at CSU Bakersfield for the last two years, and has worked in higher education since 1968. He was chosen to be president of the year based on his interaction with CSU, Bakersfield students, such as hosting lunches and dinners for all CSUB students to meet with him every quarter, attending student functions and meetings, and seeking the student perspective.

Mitchell is the first CSU Bakersfield president to receive the Maxson Award.

"I am excited for President Mitchell to receive this prestigious honor, because this award comes from the California State Student Association which represents 400,000 students from all 23 campuses," said Dan Gianoutsos, CSUB Associated Student Inc., president, "He is the students' champion."

CSSA extends its gratitude to all presidents in the CSU and congratulates President Mitchell.

About the CSSA
It is the mission of the California State Student Association (CSSA) to maintain and enhance accessibility to quality education for the people of California at the California State University- the People's University. As the single recognized voice for the 400,000-plus students of the CSU system, CSSA is the acknowledged statewide student organization representing, serving, and protecting the collective interests of students in the CSU system.

Public Affairs Offices/Campus News
[Bakersfield] [Chancellor's Office] [Channel Islands] [Chico]
[Dominguez Hills] [East Bay] [Fresno] [Fullerton] [Humboldt] [Long Beach] [Los Angeles] [Maritime Academy] [Monterey_Bay] [Northridge] [Pomona] [Sacramento] [San Bernardino] [San Diego] [San Francisco] [San Jose] [San Luis Obispo] [San Marcos] [Sonoma] [Stanislaus]