Campus: East Bay -- January 20, 2006

Economic Development Alliance Presents East Bay Vision Award to CSUEB President

For her "leadership and vision in setting the future course for Cal State East Bay," the university's president, Norma S. Rees, has been presented with the East Bay Vision Award by the Economic Development Alliance for Business.

"The award is given annually to an individual or organization whose work has contributed to the advancement of the economic vitality and the quality of life in the region," said Bruce Kern, EDAB's executive director.

Expansion into the local community as well as internationally has been a hallmark of Rees' tenure since she became president in 1990. Under her leadership, the Concord Campus of Cal State East Bay has grown to become a campus of 1,500 students to serve the population of Contra Costa County. The university's presence in Oakland includes development of its downtown Oakland Professional Development Conference Center as well as the Cal State East Bay Small Business Development Center, a joint venture with the U. S. Small Business Administration and the Northern California Small Business Development Center Network.

Rees announced last October that she will retire as president this summer.

"Beyond her university responsibilities, Norma Rees is recognized for giving back to the community," said Tim Hunt, associate publisher of the Tri-Valley Herald, in making the award presentation to Rees.

"She is active in many civic organizations at the local, state, and national levels. She led EDAB's school-to-career initiatives and continues to play a key leadership role in statewide educational reform."

Contact: Barry Zepel, Media Relations Officer, (510) 885-3884

Public Affairs Offices/Campus News
[Bakersfield] [Chancellor's Office] [Channel Islands] [Chico]
[Dominguez Hills] [East Bay] [Fresno] [Fullerton] [Humboldt] [Long Beach] [Los Angeles] [Maritime Academy] [Monterey_Bay] [Northridge] [Pomona] [Sacramento] [San Bernardino] [San Diego] [San Francisco] [San Jose] [San Luis Obispo] [San Marcos] [Sonoma] [Stanislaus]